Wildcats Sweep AP All-SEC Awards, Razorbacks' BJ Young Honorable Mention

by The Associated Press  on Monday, Mar. 12, 2012 2:17 pm  

This story is from the archives of ArkansasSports360.com.

After a dominating run during the regular season, top-ranked Kentucky made a clean sweep of the awards on The Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference team.

Freshman forward Anthony Davis was a unanimous choice Monday for player of the year and newcomer of the year, while John Calipari took the coaching honor for the second time in three seasons at Kentucky.

Davis is joined on the first team by another unanimous selection, Vanderbilt junior guard John Jenkins, the only player to repeat from last year's AP All-SEC team. The remainder of the first team includes Kentucky freshman forward Michael Kidd-Gilchrist and Mississippi State junior forward Arnett Moultrie and senior guard Dee Bost. The team was selected by a 12-member media panel.

Arkansas guard BJ Young, an all-SEC second-team pick by the coaches, was named honorable mention to the media all-league squad.

u-Anthony Davis, Kentucky, F, 6-10, Fr.
u-John Jenkins, Vanderbilt, G, 6-4, Jr.
Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Kentucky, F, 6-7, Fr.
Arnett Moultrie, Mississippi St., F, 6-11, Jr.
Dee Bost, Mississippi St., G, 6-2, Sr.

Kenny Boynton, Florida, G, 6-2, Jr.
Jeffery Taylor, Vanderbilt, G-F, 6-7, Sr.
Bradley Beal, Florida, G, 6-3, Fr.
Terrence Jones, Kentucky, F, 6-9, So.
JaMychal Green, Alabama, F, 6-8, Sr.
Jeronne Maymon, Tennessee, F, 6-7, Jr.

Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia, 6-5, Fr.; Murphy Holloway, Mississippi, F, 6-7, Jr.; Doron Lamb, Kentucky, G, 6-4, So.; Trevor Releford, Alabama, G, 6-1, So.; Erving Walker, Florida, G, 5-8, Sr.; B.J. Young, Arkansas, G, 6-3, Fr.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Anthony Davis, Kentucky
COACH OF THE YEAR — John Calipari, Kentucky
NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR — Anthony Davis, Kentucky




Please read our comments policy before commenting.