Business Briefs

by Arkansas Business Staff  on Monday, Feb. 7, 2011 12:00 am  

Women-owned small businesses can now begin taking steps to participate in a new federal contracting program, the U.S. Small Business Administration has announced. The new Women-Owned Small Business Federal Contract Program will be fully implemented during the next several months, with the first contracts expected to be awarded by the fourth quarter of fiscal year 2011. To learn more about the program, visit


Beebe Names Luter to ASU Board

Gov. Mike Beebe has named Charles Luter of Paragould, chairman of First Delta Bank of Marked Tree and Tyronza, to the Arkansas State University Board of Trustees. Luter, 71, earned his business degree from ASU in 1967. Luter, who also serves on the board of Liberty Bank of Arkansas, replaces Florine Milligan on the ASU board.


Oasis Renewal Center Opens

Recovery Centers of Arkansas last week announced the opening of its newest recovery facility, the Oasis Renewal Center at 14913 Cooper Orbit Road in Little Rock. The new center sits on 48 acres and offers log cabin dormitories, a lodge, private dining facilities and walking trails surrounding three lakes. For more information about the center, call Carole Baxter at (501) 376-2747 or (501) 352-4611.

In other news, the Oasis Renewal Center, a treatment program for alcohol and drug addiction, announced the hiring of Marci Rhodes, a licensed clinical social worker, as clinical director. Rhodes previously worked as program director for Arkansas for Drug Free Youth.


LR Law Firm Changes Name

The law firm of Huckabay Munson Rowlett & Moore P.A. of Little Rock, founded in 1984, has changed its name to Munson Rowlett Moore & Boone P.A. The law firm's principal focus remains civil litigation. With the departure of Mike Huckabay Sr., the firm welcomes three new attorneys: Amy Tracy, Charles Lyford and Mary Carole Crane. The firm also includes Bruce Munson, Beverly Rowlett, John Moore, Tim Boone, Mark Breeding, Shane Strabala, Sarah Greenwood, Jason Lee, Kara Mikles, Elizabeth Fletcher, Jane Yocum and Ashleigh Phillips.





Please read our comments policy before commenting.