Movers & Shakers (Sept. 13, 2010)

by Arkansas Business Staff  on Monday, Sep. 13, 2010 12:00 am  

Susan Johnson of Little Rock, who owns a Kitchen Tune-Up franchise with her husband, has been recognized by Kitchen Tune-Up as a Certified Home Improvement Professional.

David Underwood, associate vice president for academic affairs at Arkansas Tech University at Russellville, has been invited to serve on the National Internet2 K20 Advisory Committee, which will help shape and guide innovations in applications, networks and content for educational institutions.

Financial Services
Shawn Fitch, senior vice president and senior equity analyst, recently moved from the Stephens Inc. equity research department to its investment banking group. Fitz has spent 13 years covering the medical device sector and will continue to focus on that group of companies. Chris Cooley, an equity analyst with 16 years of experience, recently joined Stephens as a managing director and will lead the medical devise research team. He was ranked No. 1 in 2009 for stock selection by both The Wall Street Journal and StarMine Financial Times. Drew Jones, who joined Stephens in 2007, has been promoted to research analyst within the medical device group.

Keith Cox has joined BancorpSouth Bank in Little Rock as senior vice president of commercial lending. Cox has more than 30 years experience in banking.

Blake Holzhauer has been hired by Centennial Bank as senior vice president of lending at the Race Street branch in Searcy. Holzhauer was previously a senior credit officer for Simmons First Bank of Searcy. Nathan Brenneman has been promoted to mortgage loan office at the Beebe-Capps branch of Centennial Bank in Searcy.

Drew Barnes, Katie B. Pipkin and Michelle Chastain Ettehad have new jobs with Bank of the Ozarks of Little Rock. Barnes, of Mayflower, has been named assistant vice president of treasury management. Pipkin, of Little Rock, has been named trust officer. Ettehad, of Bryant, has been named senior accountant.

Danny James has been named executive director of the Arkansas State Employees Association. James, of North Little Rock, has worked for the ASEA since 1991 and was operations administrator before being named interim executive director upon the retirement of Kay Durnett in March.

Todd Dunaway was recently named director of retirement plan consulting for Lipscomb & Pitts Insurance LLC in Jonesboro.

David P. Glover of the Wright Lindsey & Jennings firm in Little Rock recently received the W.A. Eldredge Jr. Award from the Arkansas Association of Defense Counsel. Glover, who was admitted to bar in 1999, practices medical malpractice defense, insurance defense and product liability.

Christian Ruud has been hired as the first full-time director of the Arkansas Coalition to Abolish the Death Penalty, a 33-year-old volunteer organization in Little Rock. Ruud previously worked as a lawyer in Minneapolis.

John Goswick has been appointed section emergency coordinator for the Arkansas section of the American Radio Relay League, the national association for ham radio operators. Goswick also serves at the state emergency operations officer for the Amery Military Auxiliary Radio System and is president of the Central Arkansas UHF Group.

Real Estate
Shane Straw, who spent 20 years in the printing industry, mainly as a bindery supervisor for The Peerless Group of Graphic Services, has received a real estate agent license and has joined Crye-Leike Realtors in North Little Rock

Nick Bruner, manager of ABC Supply Co. Inc.'s Jonesboro store, has been promoted tomanaging partner.  Bruner joined ABC Supply, a wholesale distributor of roofing, siding and windows, in 2003 as manager of the Jonesboro branch.

Laura V. Stanley has become the third member of her family to win the Retailer of the Year award from the Arkansas Jewelers Association. Stanley, of Stanley Jewelers Gemologist in North Little Rock, follows her father, Loyd Stanley, who won the award in 1985, and her sister, Caroline Stanley, who received it in 1992. The AJA also presented its Traveler of the Year award to Robert G. Carroll of Jewelers Mutual Insurance.



Please read our comments policy before commenting.