Movers & Shakers (Feb. 1, 2010)

by Arkansas Business Staff  on Monday, Feb. 1, 2010 12:00 am  

Jamie Booe, project manager for Harco Constructors of Maumelle, received his qualification as a Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design Accredited Professional from the U.S. Green Building Council's Green Building Certification Institute. A LEED AP is recognized as an expert in sustainable design and has demonstrated knowledge of green building practices and principles, as well as the standards for design, construction, and operation of high-performance green buildings.

Elliott West, history professor at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville, was one of three finalists for Baylor University's 2010 Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching. West received $15,000 for being a finalist, and the UA history department received $10,000. In addition, West will participate in a series of lectures at the Baylor campus in Waco, Texas, and will also present a lecture at his home campus in Fayetteville.

Financial Services
John Haman, a financial representative at Northwestern Mutual, was named the company's disability income specialist for the Meeks Financial Group. Haman's new responsibilities involve increasing public knowledge about disability income insurance in his region. He works primarily with clients in Pulaski and Faulkner counties.

Jerry Sims, chief executive officer and chairman of Southern Bancorp of Blytheville, has been elected to the Southern Bancorp Inc. board of directors. Southern Bancorp of Blytheville, formerly known as First National Bank of Blytheville, merged with Southern Bancorp in 2009. Sims bought a controlling interest in First National Bank in 1981. 

Government & Politics
Colette Honorable, a member of the Arkansas Public Service Commission, has been selected to serve as the treasurer of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners. She will also serve as chairman of the association's investment and audit committees and will be a member of NARUC's executive committee and board of directors. Honorable has been serving as a PSC commissioner in Arkansas since Gov. Mike Beebe appointed her to the position in 2007.

Michael E. Sullivan, a North Little Rock native, has been appointed to the position of Arkansas state conservationist for the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Natural Resources Conservation Service. Previously, Sullivan served as leader of the Mississippi River Basin Healthy Watersheds Initiative.

Health Care
Trish Gould, the infection control coordinator for St. Joseph's Mercy Health System, a nonprofit health care organization in Hot Springs, was recently presented with a "Mercy Hero" plaque by the Sisters of Mercy Health System board of directors. Gould, a resident of Mountain Pine, was given the plaque in recognition of her efforts to keep patients' infection rates low at St. Joseph's.

Brian A. Vandiver has joined the Little Rock office of Mitchell Williams Selig Gates & Woodyard as counsel. Vandiver previously worked for the Little Rock labor and employment law firm Cross Gunter Witherspoon & Galchus. He currently serves as an adjunct professor at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock's Bowen School of Law.

Media & Marketing
Stephanie Danforth of Stuttgart has been hired by Stone Ward in Little Rock as a business account executive. She is a 2009 graduate of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, where she was awarded a degree in advertising and public relations.

Steve Mosley, CEO of Upper Right Lenders, Jose Hinojosa, a branch officer and manager at Centennial Bank, Michael Ruffin, an analyst at First Southern Bank, and Tara Wright, a speech pathology consultant, have been named to the board of directors of Family Service Agency Inc. in North Little Rock. Family Service Agency Inc. provides credit counseling and mental health counseling.

Restaurants & Food
Rhonda J. Parish has been appointed as chief legal officer and secretary for Einstein Noah Restaurant Group in Lakewood, Colo. Parish is a graduate of the University of Arkansas School of Law. She is a member of the Arkansas Bar Association and the Arkansas Bar Association House of Delegates.



Please read our comments policy before commenting.