Movers & Shakers (Aug. 10, 2009)

by Arkansas Business Staff  on Monday, Aug. 10, 2009 12:00 am  

Dan Howard, executive vice chancellor and provost at Arkansas State University at Jonesboro, has been appointed to the Commission on Accreditation of English Language Programs. He will serve a term from January 2010 through December 2012.

Lewis Shepherd Jr. has been hired as the vice president of Henderson State University's Southwest Arkansas Technology Center at Arkadelphia. Shepherd is the assistant to the president for special programs and university compliance officer at Ouachita Baptist University.

Cynthia Hawkins and Cynthia Toney of Cromwell Architects Engineers Inc. in Little Rock have both earned their Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design accreditation. Hawkins is director of interior design and a principal of Cromwell. Toney is a specification writer and president of the Little Rock Construction Specifications Institute Chapter.

Financial Services
David A. Vaden has been promoted to tax partner at Ernst & Young LLP's office in Rogers. Vaden has been with Ernst & Young for more than 13 years, providing tax services and serving as a tax account leader for clients in a variety of industries, including retail, consumer products, manufacturing, transportation and banking.

James Hemann has joined Arkansas Farm Bureau as the new southeast district area coordinator. He will work with 12 county farm bureaus, including Arkansas, Ashley, Chicot, Desha, Drew, Jefferson, Lee, Lincoln, Lonoke, Monroe, Phillips and Pulaski counties. Hemann previously worked as an area underwriter for Farm Bureau Insurance for five years.

Health Services
Donna Freel Childress has been named executive vice president of the Arkansas Health Care Association's statewide trades association. Childress has been interim EVP since the resignation in April of longtime association head Randy Wyatt. Childress has more than 12 years of management experience in the nursing home and long-term care industry.

Dr. Jack Cameron Falck has joined the emergency department team at St. Joseph's Mercy Health Center in Hot Springs. Falck has previously worked on the emergency department teams at St. Charles Medical Center and Pioneer Memorial Hospital in Oregon.

Joseph R. Falasco of Little Rock has been awarded the Arkansas Exceptional Service Medal by the Arkansas National Guard. Falasco is an attorney at Quattlebaum Grooms Tull & Burrow PLLC.

Terry Wynne has been elected president of the Jefferson County Bar Association of Pine Bluff. Jimmy Dill also has been elected vice president, and John L. Rush has been elected secretary-treasurer.

Staci Croom-Raley has been hired as vice president for work force development of Goodwill Industries of Little Rock. As vice president, she will oversee program development for job training, community outreach and accreditation of agency programs. Mark Marasco has joined Goodwill as chief financial officer and vice president of administration. He will provide organizational direction in the areas of finance and accounting, insurance and risk management, human resources, information technology, business development, facility operations and loss prevention. Ginny Wiedower has also been hired as director of marketing and communications. Wiedower previously worked for Advantage Communications Inc.

Martha Taylor was elected to a three-year term to the board of trustees of United Methodist Reporter Communications, a nonprofit communications firm based in Dallas. Taylor is the director of communications for the Arkansas conference of the United Methodist Church in Little Rock.

Real Estate
Barry Beard of Crye-Leike Realtors in Fayetteville has earned his designation as a Certified Distressed Property Expert. Beard has been a licensed Realtor since 1993, assisting buyers and sellers in and around Washington and Benton counties.

Max Thompson has joined Century 21 H.S.V. Realty in Hot Springs as a real estate agent. Thompson has 15 years of real estate experience in the Hot Springs Village area.



Please read our comments policy before commenting.