Movers & Shakers (May 25, 2009)

by Arkansas Business Staff  on Monday, May. 25, 2009 12:00 am  


John Allison, president of Allison Architects Inc. of Little Rock and Fayetteville, and Katie Kummer, an associate at the firm, have received the Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design professional accreditation from the United States Green Building Council of Washington, D.C. Allison has more than 30 years of experience in architecture. Kummer joined the firm's Little Rock office in August 2008.

Business Services

Shawnie Carrier has been promoted to executive director of the Arkadelphia Regional Economic Development Alliance. Carrier previously was the director of economic development and existing industry programs.


Aubra Anthony Jr., president and CEO of Anthony Forest Products Co. of El Dorado, has received the Mulrooney Award from the North American Wholesale Lumber Association of Rolling Meadows, Ill. The award recognizes a significant contribution to the forest products industry, Anthony's company is a fourth-generation, family-owned business.


Rachel Neeley has been named director of annual programs in the office of university development at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville. Neeley was promoted from her previous position as the department's associate director.

Judge John C. Ward, a circuit judge since 1989, has been awarded the Distinguished Alumnus Award from Ouachita Baptist University of Arkadelphia. The award was presented during the university's graduation ceremony on May 9.

Lori Sloan, assistant professor of business at Harding University in Searcy, has been appointed vice chair for marketing by the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra, based in Little Rock. Sloan has been teaching full time at Harding since 1995.

Bill Hardgrave, executive director of the radio frequency identification research center at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville, has received the Ted Williams Award from Aim Global, based out of Warrendale, Pa. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the development of the automatic identification and mobility industry. Hardgrave is also a professor of information systems, executive director of the Information Technology Research Institute and holder of the Edwin & Karlee Bradberry Chair.

Tony Stankus, professor and life sciences librarian at the libraries of the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville, has been named a fellow of the Special Libraries Association of Alexandria, Va. This is the association's highest award.

Financial Services

Tommy Richardson and Ross Mallioux received 25-year service awards for their careers at First Federal Bank of Harrison. Richardson now serves as president and chief operations officer. Mallioux serves as president of the bank's western division and chief lending officer.



Please read our comments policy before commenting.