Movers & Shakers for Oct. 27, 2008

by Arkansas Business Staff  on Monday, Oct. 27, 2008 12:00 am  


Ashlee Nobel has been hired as an art director at Exit Marketing in Little Rock. Nobel graduated from the University of Central Arkansas at Conway with a Bachelor of Fine Arts.


Brian Kirksey has been selected as the overall winner of the 2008 Swisher Sweets/Sunbelt Expo Southeastern Farmer of the Year award. Kirksey operates a plant nursery near Amity (Clark County).


Scott Dews of Bryant has been promoted to assistant vice president-commercial relationship manager at the downtown Little Rock office of Metropolitan National Bank. Dews joined Metropolitan in 2004, and is a University of Central Arkansas graduate.

J. Richard Carver and Phillip E. Stevenson have been elected to the board of directors of Union Bank of Mena. Carver and John Stevenson have been elected to serve on the board of the bank's holding company, Union Bankshares Inc.                          


Jeremy D. Hyde has been promoted to vice president of operations for Hydco Inc. in North Little Rock. Hyde began his career with Hydco in 1994 and has served in numerous roles, including superintendent, project manager and estimator.


Nalini Bora and Dr. Christopher T. Westfall, faculty members at the Jones Eye Institute at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock, are the inaugural recipients of endowed chairs established by gifts from two long-time UAMS supporters. Bora received the Bernice Young Jones Chair in Ophthalmology, and Westfall received the Pat Walker Chair in Ophthalmology.

Robert Maranto has been appointed to the 21st Century Chair in Leadership at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville as part of an effort to support schools and help develop the leaders they need. A former professor of political science at Villanova University near Philadelphia, Maranto will study the role of leaders in education.




Please read our comments policy before commenting.