Rutherford Named Dean of Clinton School, Will Leave CJRW

by Lance Turner  on Thursday, Apr. 13, 2006 2:18 pm  

James L. "Skip" Rutherford, chairman of the board of the William J. Clinton Foundation and executive vice president of Little Rock's Cranford Johnson Robinson Woods communications firm, on Wednesday was named dean of the University of Arkansas Clinton School of Public Service.

Rutherford succeeds former U.S. Sen. David Pryor, the school's founding dean. Pryor announced his departure in January.

Rutherford begins his duties at the school on May 8.

"We're very fortunate to have Skip make this move at a time when the Clinton School is beginning to establish itself as a leader in the world of public service," University of Arkansas System President Dr. B. Alan Sugg said. "His ability to lead is matched only by his desire to succeed.

"Nine years ago, Skip and I led a group to visit the presidential libraries in College Station, Austin and Atlanta. His enthusiasm and interest in the University of Arkansas' involvement was high even then. I watched with admiration as he led the building of the Clinton Presidential Center and Park here. No wonder I am confident in Skip's ability to use his considerable ingenuity and persistence in following David Pryor as dean of the Clinton School," he said.

Rutherford supervised the planning and construction of the Clinton Presidential Library. He was an administrative assistant to Pryor in the U.S. Senate and is a past president of the Little Rock School Board. A visiting professor at the University of Central Arkansas at Conway, Rutherford has taught at the University of the Ozarks in Clarksville and Lyon College in Batesville. He served as the first executive in residence in the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville department of journalism and received the department's first Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Rutherford will leave his post at Cranford Johnson Robinson Woods, the state's largest advertising, marketing and public relations firm, where he worked for 13 years.



Please read our comments policy before commenting.