Movers & Shakers (Aug. 13, 2012)

by Arkansas Business Staff  on Monday, Aug. 13, 2012 12:00 am  

Andrew Sharpley has received the Distinguished Agriscience Scientist Award from the Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation and the American Farm Bureau Federation. Sharpley is a professor in the department of crop, soil and environmental sciences at the University of Arkansas. He won the $10,000 award for his work on the effects of agricultural management on water quality.

Health Care
Dr. Andrew L. Coble has rejoined the staff of the North Arkansas Regional Medical Center in Harrison, this time as a general surgeon. Coble worked at the medical center for 16 years in various positions, including paramedic supervisor, while attending medical school part time. He received his medical degree from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock and completed his surgical residency at Memorial University Medical Center in Savannah, Ga.
Charles Born, Clint Recktenwald, Sparky Hedden, Melissa Brown, Natalie McDowell and Dennis Moore recently won awards from the Arkansas Pharmacists Association at its annual convention in Rogers. Born, a former professor at UAMS, was recognized as Pharmacist of the Year, and Recktenwald, of Genuine Care Pharmacy in Gassville, was honored as Young Pharmacist of the Year. Hedden, of McCoy-Tygart Drug Store Inc. in Sheridan, received the Bowl of Hygeia Award; Brown, the clinical services and education coordinator at Medical Arts Pharmacy of Fayetteville, was awarded the Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award; McDowell, a student at the UAMS College of Pharmacy, won the Charles M. West Leadership Award; and Moore, the director of the UAMS North Central Area Health Education Center, was the winner of the Cardinal Health Generation RX Champion Award for his help raising awareness of prescription drug abuse.

John L. Rush has been appointed to the Arkansas Bar Association investment committee. Rush recently retired from Simmons First Trust Co. of Pine Bluff.

Myron Jackson, CEO of The Design Group of Little Rock, has been appointed by Gov. Mike Beebe to serve a seven-year term on the Black History Commission of Arkansas. The commission was established in 1991 to aid in collecting historical documents for the Arkansas History Commission, promote the study of black history and, in conjunction with the Arkansas Department of Education, work to develop educational resources about the history of African-Americans for schools.

Robert Zunick of Hot Springs, Robert Thompson of Paragould and Charlotte Brown of Little Rock have been elected to the Arkansas Community Foundation state board of directors. Zunick is vice president and senior portfolio manager at Morgan Stanley in Hot Springs, Thompson is an attorney at Branch Thompson Philhours & Warmath, and Brown recently retired from UAMS, where he was senior director of development for the Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging.

Real Estate
Jennifer Lester, Rebekah Gray and Cheryl White have been elected as officers on the board of the greater Little Rock chapter of the Building Owners & Managers Association. Lester, of Union Plaza Commercial Real Estate, was named president; Gray, of Colliers International, is vice president; and White, of Flake & Kelley Commercial, is treasurer.



Please read our comments policy before commenting.