Arkansas Parks & Tourism Gives Out Annual Henry Awards

by Arkansas Business Staff  on Wednesday, Mar. 6, 2013 10:37 am  

The Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism on Tuesday honored state tourism professionals and supporters at its annual Henry Awards Banquet, part of the annual Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism, which took place this week in Hot Springs.
The awards honor individuals and organizations that have made contributions to the state’s tourism industry. Richard W. Davies, executive director of the state Department of Parks and Tourism, led the awards ceremony and banquet. More than 550 people attended.

The Henry Award recipients for 2012 include:
  • Media Support Award: Rex Nelson, North Little Rock 
  • Bootstrap Award: Downtown Walnut Ridge / Lawrence County Chamber of Commerce
  • Arkansas Heritage Award: Civil War Helena
  • Grand Old Classic Special Event Award: MusicFest El Dorado 
  • Outstanding Volunteer Service Award: Arkansas Master Gardeners
  • Community Tourism Development Award: City of Bentonville 
  • The Natural State Award: Great Arkansas Cleanup
  • Tourism Special Achievement Award: Southland Park Gaming & Racing, West Memphis
Bill Carter received a special Crystal Award for his work collaborating with Arkansas State University to restore Johnny Cash’s boyhood home in Dyess.
Ross Moore of Clinton was named Tourism Person of the Year, and Davies was inducted into the Tourism Hall of Fame.
The Henry Awards have been a feature of the annual tourism conference since 1981. The awards are named for Henri de Tonti, founder of Arkansas Post in 1686.



Please read our comments policy before commenting.