J. David Daniel Newest Senior VP at Simmons First Trust (Movers & Shakers)

by Arkansas Business Staff  on Monday, Apr. 29, 2013 12:00 am  

J. David Daniel


Deborah Tietjen has joined the staff of the Marshall Family Practice Clinic in northeast Arkansas. Tietjen previously worked as a nurse practitioner at Central Washington Hospital and earned her master’s degree in science and midwifery from Philadelphia University.

Jamie Harrison, Bill Jones, David Jones, David Reding and Betty Richards have been appointed to the board of trustees for the Baptist Health Foundation in Little Rock. The members will serve as ambassadors, advisers and fundraisers for the foundation, which has chosen 30 additional trustees. Each individual will complete a three-year term with the opportunity for renewal.

Dana Abraham, Chad Sullivan and Donna Terrell received honors at the annual Josetta Wilkins Awards held at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock. The awards, hosted by the BreastCare program of the Arkansas Department of Health, are given to individuals who advocate the fight against breast cancer. Abraham, a surgical oncologist, was honored as an individual professional while Sullivan and Terrell were recognized as individual volunteers.


Frances S. Fendler, Ibrahim Duyar, Kwasi Boateng, Joseph R. Bell, Tansel Karabacak, Nidhal Bouaynaya and David F. Mastin have been nominated for awards in faculty excellence by the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Each professor was chosen by his or her own departments for excelling in research, which, with teaching and public service, is one of three award categories.


John Paul Hammerschmidt and Jeff Jones will be honored at the 2013 Breakthrough Solutions Conference on May 8 in Little Rock. Hammerschmidt, the former U.S. representative, and Jones, currently employed with CenturyLink, will each receive the Breakthrough Solutions SOAR Award, which is given to communities, regions or individuals who exemplify excellence in community development work.


Marla Johnston Norris has been awarded the Beta Gamma Sigma Medallion from Beta Gamma Sigma, the business honors society. Norris is a graduate of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock and is the co-founder and chief executive officer of Aristotle Inc. Jane Wayland, dean of the UALR College of Business, nominated Norris for the honor.



Please read our comments policy before commenting.