Laura Knox Named Faculty Member of the Year at ASU-Mountain Home (Movers & Shakers)

by Arkansas Business Staff  on Monday, May. 27, 2013 12:00 am  

Laura Knox


Laura Knox has been selected as Faculty Member of the Year at Arkansas State University-Mountain Home. Knox began teaching at the university in 2005 as an adjunct instructor and was promoted to full-time faculty in 2010. Prior to her tenure at ASUMH, she earned her master’s degree at the University of Colorado in Denver, later moving to Mountain Home to teach in the city’s public school system.

Ted Dorn and Jenny Jennings have received outstanding alumnus honors from the Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food & Life Sciences at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville. Dorn, who graduated in 1982 with a bachelor’s degree in animal science, received the Outstanding Alumni Award and currently serves as co-president of three Simmons Foods Inc. affiliates. Jennings, who earned a bachelor’s degree in animal science in 2004, began working at Alltech in 2009 as a postdoctoral fellow specializing in beef cattle research. She was also named an Animal Science Young Scholar in 2010.

James Carr and David Collins have been promoted to higher administration positions at Harding University in Searcy. Carr, who will become senior vice president June 1, currently serves as executive vice president and was recently named to the board of the Hardee Institute for Leadership & Ethics at Florida State University. Collins will become executive vice president. A 1992 Harding graduate, Collins joined the faculty in 2003 and is currently vice president of student life.

Jack Kinnaman has been awarded an honorary degree in construction education from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Kinnaman, who founded Kinco Constructors Inc. of Little Rock, is considered one of the founding fathers of the university’s construction management program and funds the Jack Kinnaman Constructor Endowed Scholarship as well as the Phyllis Kinnaman Memorial Scholarship. He also serves as a fellow and former president of the American Institute of Constructors.


Mike Boschetti of Cornerstone Business Advisors in Little Rock has earned the designation of Certified Exit Planner from the Business Enterprise Institute. Boschetti practiced public accounting for 12 years and worked as a partner in multiple real estate and business ventures. He also currently serves as the CFO of Fellowship Associates, a nonprofit leadership development organization.


Bill Harrison, CEO of Harrison Energy Partners of Little Rock, has been inducted into the Arkansas ASHRAE Hall of Fame as a result of his contributions to the HVAC industry. Harrison has been an active member of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating & Air Conditioning Engineers throughout his career and has served in numerous positions, including society president from 2008 to 2009.


Thomas Powell has been named chief medical information officer of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock. Prior to coming to UAMS, Powell served as chief medical information officer and chief informatics officer for Miami Children’s Hospital in Florida. He also attended the University of Texas Health Science Center and completed his residency at Duke University.

Dr. V. Suzanne Klimberg has been named president of the Society of Surgical Oncology. Klimberg, who is a breast surgeon at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, serves as director of the Breast Cancer Program at the UAMS Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute. She also teaches surgery and pathology at the university’s College of Medicine and holds the Muriel Balsam Kohn Chair in Breast Surgical Oncology.


Carolyn B. Witherspoon of Little Rock has been appointed to the Uniform Laws Commission by Gov. Mike Beebe. Witherspoon, an attorney and director at Cross Gunter Witherspoon & Galchus, practices in labor and employment law, governmental law and transportation law. She also represents public and private employers in employment and human resources-related issues.


John Lawlor has been chosen as a finalist for the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year 2013 Southwest Area North award. Lawlor is CEO of Vestcom, a marketing firm based in Little Rock.


W.A. McCormick, William O. Reeves, Lyle Foster, Stan Roberts, Stephen Rowell and Erin Taylor have been elected to the board of directors of Methodist Family Health in Little Rock. The nonprofit organization, established in 1899, provides psychiatric and behavioral health care services to families in Arkansas and serves more than 1,400 clients daily.


Casey Garrett has joined the staff of Crye-Leike Realty in Conway. Casey previously served as an office administrator for the company before becoming a licensed Realtor. She was also honored with the 2012 Rookie of the Year Award by the Faulkner County Board of Realtors. She specializes in residential sales, investment properties and new home construction.

Keith Montgomery has joined Brawley & Associates Real Estate in Greers Ferry as executive broker. Montgomery has been licensed since 1982 and has been a longtime instructor of real estate for the Arkansas Real Estate Commission and Arkansas Realtors Association. He has also served on several committees and boards, including the North Pulaski Board of Realtors and the Arkansas Realtors Association Board of Directors.

Ashley Willis been hired as a graphic designer for Haag Brown Commercial in Jonesboro. Willis, who is currently completing her Bachelor of Fine Arts in graphic design at Arkansas State University, has received multiple local awards and has completed freelance work for media, business and nonprofit organizations.


David E. Crook was named director of Conference Technologies Inc. earlier this year. Formerly a sales consultant for Curtis Stout Inc. in Little Rock, Crook is now overseeing the Arkansas office of CTI of St. Louis, which sells and installs audiovisual and custom control systems.

Dylan Quandt has joined the staff of Mainstream Technologies in Little Rock as a level one help desk analyst. Quandt previously worked for Dillard’s Inc. in the company’s information technology department and will provide support for the point-of-sale system, work stations and servers.



Please read our comments policy before commenting.