UAMS College of Medicine Awards Dr. Kent Westbrook for Achievements (Super Mover

by Arkansas Business Staff  on Monday, Jun. 3, 2013 12:00 am  

Kent Westbrook

Dr. Kent Westbrook received the UAMS College of Medicine’s Distinguished Faculty Service Award on April 30 as part of the Dean’s Honor Day Ceremony, where achievements and contributions of faculty, staff and alumni were recognized.

Raised in Clarksville, Westbrook attended the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville and then graduated from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in 1965. He stayed at UAMS for his residency in general surgery and then served as chief resident and instructor in 1969-70.

After a fellowship in surgical oncology at the M.D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Westbrook returned to UAMS as an assistant professor. During the 1970s and ‘80s, he worked with colleagues to develop comprehensive cancer services at UAMS, including the formation of the Arkansas Cancer Research Center in 1984. ACRC is the predecessor of the Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, and Westbrook was its director for 14 years. He also served as interim chair of the Department of Surgery from 1999-2002 and as interim vice chancellor for development and alumni affairs in 2011.



Please read our comments policy before commenting.