Jim Couch Rises to New Position at Delta Dental (Movers & Shakers)

by Arkansas Business Staff  on Monday, Jun. 10, 2013 12:00 am  

Jim Couch


Jim Couch has been named vice president and general counsel at Delta Dental of Arkansas in Sherwood. Couch has more than 20 years of experience providing legal counsel and compliance oversight to health care organizations. He was formerly the vice president of compliance and corporate counsel at QualChoice from 2007 to 2013.

Health Care

Dr. David Foster has accepted the presidency of the St. Vincent Medical Group in Little Rock. Foster has formerly served as chief medical officer of the Christus Provider Network, medical director of the Christus Health Plan and a physician with the Christus Medical Group.

Dr. S. Thomas Rayburn III, a cardiovascular surgeon, has joined the Jack Stephens Heart Institute at the St. Vincent Infirmary Medical Center in Little Rock. Rayburn has practiced thoracic and cardiovascular surgery since 1999.

Dr. Dan Hennessey has been elected to serve on the Arkansas Optometric Association’s board of directors in Little Rock. Hennessey is an optometric physician at the Little Rock Eye Clinic.


Mike Hernandez has been appointed assistant commissioner of fiscal services at the Arkansas Department of Education in Little Rock. Hernandez is currently the superintendent of the Danville School District in Yell County.

Amanda Holsted Horton has joined the University of Central Arkansas as director of public appearances and the Reynolds Performance Hall. Horton was formerly the director of the Grand Prairie Center at Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas.

Logan Hampton, Joni Lee and Nathan Nolen have been appointed interim vice chancellors at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Hampton will serve as interim vice chancellor for educational, student services and student life following the retirement of Charles Donaldson. Lee will serve as interim vice chancellor for university advancement following the retirement of Bill Walker. Nolen will serve as interim vice chancellor for information technology services following the retirement of Jeannie Winston.

Financial Services

Arkansas State Bank Commissioner Candace A. Franks of Little Rock has been named the chairman-elect of the Conference of State Bank Supervisors.

Jami McNeely has been promoted to consumer loan officer at Arvest Bank in Hot Springs. McNeely has more than 25 years of banking experience, and she has been at Arvest since October 2010. She previously served as a commercial loan and private banking assistant.

Julie Seat has been hired as the assistant vice president and branch manager at the Highland branch of IberiaBank in Sharp County. Seat formerly worked for Dillard & Dillard Motor Co. in Ash Flat.


Joy Figarsky has been named director of the Arkansas Department of Human Services’ Behavioral Health Services Division in Little Rock. Figarsky has nearly 30 years of experience in the field and was formerly the CEO of Ascent Children’s Services in Jonesboro.


Christopher Heil, an attorney at the Brad Hendricks Law Firm in Little Rock, has been appointed to the judiciary committee of the Arkansas Bar Association.


Kevin Connell has joined the sales staff at Wood Motor Co. in Harrison. Connell began his sales career in 1980 and has most recently worked at Landers McLarty Nissan in Bentonville.



Please read our comments policy before commenting.