New Neurosurgeons Fill Roles at Arkansas Neuroscience Institute (Movers & Shakers)

by Arkansas Business Staff  on Monday, Nov. 11, 2013 12:00 am  

Dr. Stephen F. Shafizadeh (left) and Dr. Tarek Abuelem have joined the Arkansas Neuroscience Institute team at St. Vincent Infirmary in Little Rock

Health Care

Dr. Stephen F. Shafizadeh has joined the Arkansas Neuroscience Institute team at St. Vincent Infirmary in Little Rock. Shafizadeh earned a medical degree from the Medical University of South Carolina and completed his neurosurgical residency at Northwestern University. Dr. Tarek Abuelem has joined ANI after earning neurosurgical residencies at Baylor College of Medicine and M.D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston and completing a fellowship at ANI.

Dr. Ida Cowan has joined the anesthesia group at Saline Memorial Hospital in Benton. Cowan completed her medical degree and anesthesia residency at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock.

Dr. B.J. Bailey recently joined Arkansas Bone & Joint in Benton. Bailey received his medical degree from UAMS and is currently practicing at Saline Memorial Hospital in Benton.

James Mack Street has joined the White River Medical Center Medical Complex in Cherokee Village as facility administrator. Street has served on the board of White River Health System for 22 years.

Dr. Keith Wolter has joined UAMS as a plastic surgeon and assistant professor in the UAMS College of Medicine’s Department of Surgery. Wolter received his medical degree and doctorate in cellular and molecular biology from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, and previously served as a visiting instructor at the University of Utah Health System in Salt Lake City.

Financial Services

Tanas Schmidt has been promoted to human resources assistant for One Bank & Trust in Little Rock.

Aaron Gamewell has been promoted to executive vice president and chief operating officer of the Arkansas Bankers Association in Little Rock. Gamewell joined the ABA in May 2012 as senior vice president of professional development.


Eric Gilliland has been hired to lead the archaeology and Section 106 program at the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program in Little Rock. Gilliland has worked in the AHPP’s Section 106 program for more than two years.

Mitzi Traxson has left the position of managing director at the Jackson L. Graves Foundation in Fayetteville, where she served from 2007-13. Audre Darling has been hired to run the foundation’s day-to-day operations as executive director.

Brad Jordan has joined Main Street Arkansas in Little Rock as an assistant director. Jordan worked most recently at the Capitol Zoning District Commission, where he served as historic preservation coordinator.

Christopher Cooper, Sharon Davis, Stephen Lancaster and Don Munro have been elected to the Arkansas Hospice Board in North Little Rock.

Sharon Aureli, Anne Tedford, Judy Waller and Jessica Worman have been elected to the Arkansas Hospice Foundation Board in North Little Rock.


Tim Brown has been hired as senior IT consulting engineer at Mainstream Technologies in Little Rock. Prior to joining Mainstream, Brown worked at ABC Financial Services Inc.


Ben Thielemier has been hired as communications and marketing manager for the city of Little Rock. Thielemier comes from a public affairs background where he worked with municipalities and chambers of commerce.


Joel B. Carter and Joseph W. Price II of Quattlebaum Grooms Tull & Burrow PLLC have been named to the Arkansas Bar Association’s Leadership Academy Class of 2013-14 in Little Rock.


Ike Peters, formerly a content and creative specialist, has joined Cranford Johnson Robinson Woods in Little Rock as a copywriter, and Michelle Blackman has joined the company after recently graduating from the Savannah College of Art & Design.



Please read our comments policy before commenting.