Stephanie Purifoy Takes Over Development for Arkansas Hunger Relief Alliance (Movers & Shakers)

by Arkansas Business Staff  on Monday, Mar. 10, 2014 12:00 am  

Stephanie Purifoy


Stephanie Purifoy has been promoted to development director at the Arkansas Hunger Relief Alliance in Little Rock. Purifoy started with the organization as field manager for the alliance’s program Cooking Matters at the Store. Leslie Bass will succeed Purifoy as field manager. Bass previously worked in central Arkansas to identify and recruit groups to participate in the alliance’s Arkansas No Kid Hungry programs.

Financial Services

D. Bryan Smith was recently promoted to senior vice president of retail operations for northwest Arkansas at Centennial Bank in Fayetteville. Smith has worked in the financial services industry for 18 years and earned his Bachelor of Business Administration degree in finance from Arkansas State University in Jonesboro.

Debbie Knight has joined One Bank & Trust in Little Rock as a senior vice president and retail division manager. Knight previously served as an executive vice president at Metropolitan National Bank and has more than 20 years of banking experience.

W. Blake Holzhauer has been promoted to regional chief lending officer in northwest Arkansas for Centennial Bank in Fayetteville. Holzhauer earned his bachelor’s degree from Arkansas State University in Jonesboro and has worked in banking for 12 years.

Health Care

Cornelia Beck, a professor in the College of Medicine’s Geriatrics Department at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, was appointed associate director of the Translational Research Institute. Beck, who has a doctorate in nursing, has been responsible for the research arm of the UAMS John A. Hartford Center for Geriatric Nursing Excellence for the past 12 years.

Dr. Issam Makhoul has been named the inaugural recipient of the Dr. Laura F. Hutchins Distinguished Chair for Hematology & Oncology at UAMS in Little Rock. Makhoul joined the UAMS faculty in 2002 and was named director of the college’s Division of Hematology/Oncology in 2013.


Eileen Denne, senior director of communications for the Arkansas Pharmacists Association, was elected president of the Arkansas chapter of the Public Relations Society of America in Little Rock. Other board members are Brandi Hinkle of the Department of Higher Education, president-elect; Becca Green of ACCESS, vice president; Rebecca Brockman of Goodwill Industries of Arkansas, secretary; Daniel Wade of Central Arkansas Christian Schools, treasurer; Heide Harrell of Stone Ward, past president; Brandon Morris of the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management, assembly delegate; and Denver Peacock, Adena White and Ginny Hensley, directors at large.

Tina Waggener has joined the Bentonville office of the Kendal King Group as an account executive. Waggener most recently spent 17 years as the executive director of the Cancer Challenge.

Jocelyn Tovar has joined the Markham Group in Little Rock as director of its communications and press relations department. Tovar earned a master’s degree in broadcast communication from Syracuse University and most recently worked as a news reporter for NBC and Fox 16 affiliates in Little Rock.



Please read our comments policy before commenting.