Franchise Taxes for Businesses in Arkansas Due May 1

by Arkansas Business Staff  on Wednesday, Apr. 30, 2014 10:25 am  

Arkansas Secretary of State Mark Martin on Wednesday said annual reports and franchise taxes are due by midnight Thursday, May 1, to the secretary of state's Business and Commercial Services (BCS) division.

Every incorporated business pays an annual fee to do business in Arkansas. The taxes are payable each year between January and May 1. About 80 percent of the state’s corporations pay the minimum franchise tax rate of $150, according to the secretary of state's office.

"I encourage all business to pay their franchise tax before the deadline to avoid accruing penalties and interest," Martin said in a news release.

The corporate taxes generated $24 million in 2010, $23 million in 2011 and 2012 and $25 million in 2013.

Corporations can file their franchise taxes online at www.sos.arkansas.gov. The system generates email confirmations and copies of each completed filing. Credit cards and electronic checks are accepted. 

Corporations can also pay in person at: 

Victory Building
1401 West Capitol, Suite 250
Little Rock, AR 72201.

Or mail tax forms to:

Business and Commercial Services (BCS) division
P.O. Box 8014
Little Rock, AR 72203-8014

BCS is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. 

For additional information, call BCS at (888) 233-0325.

 

 

Please read our comments policy before commenting.