Movers & Shakers (Dec. 26, 2011)

Jim Ross of Ross Ford-Toyota at Wynne was recently elected chairman of the board of the Arkansas Automobile Dealers Association of North Little Rock. Other officers elected were Scott Wood of Stanley Wood Chevrolet at Batesville, vice chairman; Mike Bennage of Mike Bennage Chevrolet at Hughes, treasurer; Todd Ford of Glen Sain Motor Sales at Rector, vice chairman for Region One; and Ronnie Ramsey, Ramsey Motor Co. of Harrison, vice chairman for Region Three. Also elected were the following directors: Jay Dooley of De Queen Ford-Chrysler; Brian Holt of Holt Auto Group at Crossett; Lannie Lancaster of Holly Chevrolet at Marion; Mike Lemons of Superior Nissan of Conway; Bill Magness of Magness Toyota at Harrison; Mark Miller of Fletcher Dodge-Chrysler-Jeep at Sherwood; Dennis Nelms of Adventure Subaru at Fayetteville; and Gan Nunnally of George Nunnally Chevrolet at Bentonville.

Ed Franklin, executive director of the Arkansas Association of Two-Year Colleges, has been named chairman of the National Council of State Directors of Community Colleges, an affiliate of the American Association of Community Colleges.

Colette Honorable, chairwoman of the Arkansas Public Service Commission, was recently elected second vice president of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners, which represents state utility regulators across the country. Honorable was appointed to the Arkansas PSC by Gov. Mike Beebe in October 2007 and was designated chairwoman in January. She recently finished a term as treasurer of the NARUC.

James Downs has joined the Arkansas Science & Technology Authority in Little Rock as vice president of informatics. Downs has more than 20 years of experience in information technology and accounting, having previously worked for Fidelity Information Services, Alltel and Ellis Tucker & Aldridge CPAs.

Health Care
Dr. David C. Jacks of Pine Bluff has been presented with the Distinguished Service Award by the Southern Medical Association of Birmingham, Ala. Jacks is a urologist and member of the clinical faculty of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.
Steve Bell has joined Baptist Memorial Medical Group in Jonesboro as controller, and Karen Forkum has been hired as central billing office director. Bell has more than 20 years of accounting experience and spent five years as controller of Lenders Title Co. in Little Rock. Forkum has almost a decade of health care experience, having served in various capacities at the University of Arkansas Medical Sciences Northeast Area Health Education Center. BMMG was formed in May 2010 as a division of Baptist Memorial Health Care Corp. of Memphis.  

Glen Rounsaville has been promoted to director of clinical operations at NEA Baptist Clinic in Jonesboro. He was previously information technology operations manager. His new responsibilities include oversight and management of the Eye Clinic, the Pain Management Clinic, the Sleep Clinic, clinical research, medical records, transcription, switchboard and the Wellness Center.

Dr. Ali Abdelaal will serve as chief of staff-elect of North Arkansas Regional Medical Center in Harrison during calendar year 2012. He will then succeed Dr. Sharron Leslie as chief of staff in January 2013. Leslie will then serve one year as past chief of staff, providing continuity to the executive leadership of the medical staff.

Erin Parker has been promoted to director of compliance, compliance officer and privacy officer at Arkansas Children's Hospital in Little Rock. Parker, who joined ACH in 2006, previously held the position of senior internal auditor in the corporate compliance department. Prior to joining the hospital, she was a senior accountant for Deloitte & Touche LLP.

Erna L. Boone of Cabot was one of 20 respiratory therapists from around the country to be designated a fellow of the American Association of Respiratory Care of Dallas at its recent International Respiratory Congress held in Tampa, Fla.
John Napier has joined Arkansas Foundation for Medical Care in Little Rock as director of project and systems management. After more than 20 years in the U.S. Army, Napier's 19-year civilian career includes experience as a project manager on state-level Medicaid Managed Information Systems projects in Maryland and South Dakota and as a consultant project director for Alabama's Medicaid agency.

Bobby Whitfield, senior vice president and insurance and benefit adviser for Stephens Insurance LLC of Little Rock, was named to the Million Dollar Round Table's Top of the Table. With a 37-year MDRT membership and an 11-time Top of the Table qualifying record, Whitfield has also attained the qualifying and life member status.

James E. Crouch and Rutheanne Murphy have been honored by the Arkansas Bar Association with the Lawyer Community Legacy Award for their service to their community and profession. Crouch is a partner in the law firm of Cypert Crouch Clark & Harwell PLLC in Springdale. Murphy is with the Baker Schulze Law Firm in Little Rock.

Dr. Janet Cathey of Little Rock is one of six new board members of the Women's Foundation of Arkansas for 2012. The others are Cathy Dicus, Michelle Kaemmerling, Jamilyn Noble, Mimi San Pedro and Elizabeth Small.

Warren Simpson has been elected to a two-year term as chairman of the board of Easter Seals of Arkansas in Little Rock. Bill Carlton has been elected treasurer, and Cindy Nash is secretary. New board members are Ralph Eubanks, Susan Hickingbotham and Tiffany Robinson.

Bill Watkins of Rogers has been elected president of the board of the Beaver Water District, which provides drinking water to more than 300,000 people in northwest Arkansas. Other new officers are Chris Weiser of Springdale, vice president, and Herb Hawkins of Avoca, secretary-treasurer.

David Casaletto, executive director of Ozarks Water Watch of Kimberling City, Mo., has been elected president of the nonprofit Multi-Basin Regional Water Council, which represents Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri and Oklahoma.