Movers & Shakers (Nov. 14, 2011)

Financial Services
Cory G. Johnson has been hired by BancorpSouth Bank in Little Rock as a vice president and loan officer. Johnson has 18 years of banking experience with First Commercial Bank, Pulaski Bank & Trust and Delta Trust & Bank.

Trish Kalbas-Schmidt of Fayetteville recently was named the Arkansas Small Business & Technology Development Center's 2011 State Star. She earned the recognition by being an exemplary performer, showing a strong commitment to Arkansas small business and contributing significantly to the Arkansas SBTDC program.

Health Care
Dr. Christopher P. Cifarelli, a neurosurgeon, has joined the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences at Little Rock and is seeing patients at the Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute. Cifarelli, an assistant professor in the Department of Neurosurgery in the UAMS College of Medicine, earned doctoral and medical degrees from Thomas Jefferson University and Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia and completed a residency in neurological surgery at the University of Virginia at Charlottesville.

Jeremy Drinkwitz has been promoted to chief operating officer of Sparks Health System in Fort Smith. Drinkwitz was previously an associate administrator who had worked at health care facilities in Virginia, Florida and Mississippi before joining Sparks in December 2009.

Eddie Glover of Marshall Medic Pharmacy in Marshall and U.S. Compounding in Conway was named Independent Pharmacist of the Year at the 113th annual National Community Pharmacists Association convention. Glover founded U.S. Compounding in 1995. Mark Riley, executive vice president of the Arkansas Pharmacists Association, has been elected chairman of the board of the NCPA.

James R. "Jamie" Carter, CEO of Crittenden Regional Hospital in West Memphis, recently received the 2011 A. Allen Weintraub Memorial Award, the highest honor given to an individual by the Arkansas Hospital Association. The AHA also gave distinguished service awards to Molly Harsh Burns, a trustee at Magnolia Regional Medical Center; Dave Morton, who recently retired as regional executive with the American Hospital Association; and the late Jane Texter, a 60-year hospital auxiliary volunteer and past leader of the Arkansas Hospital Auxiliary Association and member of the AHA board of directors. State Rep. Keith Ingram, D-West Memphis, received the AHA's Statesmanship Award.

George Knollmeyer, Chris Schaffhauser, Mary Shue and state Rep. Darrin Williams have joined the board of directors of Our House of Little Rock, a shelter for homeless individuals and families. Knollmeyer is manager of administrative services for Ben E. Keith Foods of North Little Rock. Schaffhauser is the facilities and engineering manager for UPS in Little Rock. Shue is a caregiver and manicurist for Caracalla Spa in Little Rock. Williams is a managing partner for Carney Williams Bates Bozeman & Pulliam law firm in Little Rock and represents District 36 in the Arkansas House of Representatives.

Real Estate
Karen Crowson of Benton, a member of the Arkansas Real Estate Commission, has been installed as president-elect of the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials and will serve as president in 2012. ARELLO is an international association, and Crowson will be the second Arkansan to serve as its president. (The first was Gary C. Isom of Little Rock, executive director of the Arkansas Real Estate Commission, in 2010.)

Kent Dover, a real estate agent with ERA Rushing McAdams Polychron Realtors in Hot Springs, was named Arkansas Realtor of the Year by the 7,000-member Arkansas Realtors Association at its annual convention last month.
Chuck Goss of Goss Management & Realty in Little Rock recently received his Residential Management Professional designation at the National Association of Residential Property Managers convention in Dallas.
John Mayner III has been hired as vice president of marketing and communications by the Little Rock Convention & Visitors Bureau. Most recently, Mayner was the marketing manager for the city of Mesquite, Texas.