Business Briefs

Business Hall of Fame to Induct 4

The 13th annual Arkansas Business Hall of Fame event will be held Feb. 11 at the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock. The event begins with a reception at 6 p.m. Dinner and programming will start at 6:45 p.m. Attire is black-tie optional. For more information, visit

Those being inducted into the Hall of Fame are L. Dickson Flake, co-founder and former managing partner of Colliers International Arkansas in Little Rock; Wallace W. Fowler, CEO and chairman of Liberty Bank of Arkansas and CEO and chairman of Fowler Foods Inc. of Jonesboro; Donald G. Soderquist, the now-retired senior vice chairman of Wal-Mart Stores Inc. of Bentonville and executive-in-residence at the Soderquist Center for Leadership & Ethics in Rogers; and Leland E. Tollett, former chairman and CEO of Tyson Foods Inc. of Springdale.

UCA to Host Discussion on Reform

The University of Central Arkansas Investment Club and the UCA College of Business will sponsor a panel discussion on financial services regulatory reform at 1:30 p.m. Feb. 10 in the College of Business auditorium on the UCA campus in Conway. The discussion, "Financial Services Regulatory Reform: What Is It, and Does It Impact Me?," is free and open to the public. 

Panelists will include Julie Stackhouse, senior vice president of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis; John Adams, president and CEO of First Security Bank, Conway Market; Randy Dennis of DD&F Consulting; Rush Harding, CEO of Crews & Associates; Kevin Hester, executive vice president of Centennial Bank; and John Womack, chairman and CEO of Central Arkansas Operations for Arvest Bank. The moderator will be Robert "Bunny" Adcock Jr.


Rep Campaign Raises $6 Million

The Arkansas Repertory Theatre ended its capital campaign last week, having exceeded its goal of $5.4 million and securing a $600,000 challenge grant from the Kresge Foundation.

"Over the past four years, we've raised $5,443,384 in gifts and pledges, plus Kresge Foundation's challenge grant for the last $600,000, surpassing our $6 million goal," Producing Artistic Director Bob Hupp said. "We are pleased to announce renovations to the public spaces will begin July 1."


SBA Aids Women Entrepreneurs

Women-owned small businesses can now begin taking steps to participate in a new federal contracting program, the U.S. Small Business Administration has announced. The new Women-Owned Small Business Federal Contract Program will be fully implemented during the next several months, with the first contracts expected to be awarded by the fourth quarter of fiscal year 2011. To learn more about the program, visit


Beebe Names Luter to ASU Board

Gov. Mike Beebe has named Charles Luter of Paragould, chairman of First Delta Bank of Marked Tree and Tyronza, to the Arkansas State University Board of Trustees. Luter, 71, earned his business degree from ASU in 1967. Luter, who also serves on the board of Liberty Bank of Arkansas, replaces Florine Milligan on the ASU board.


Oasis Renewal Center Opens

Recovery Centers of Arkansas last week announced the opening of its newest recovery facility, the Oasis Renewal Center at 14913 Cooper Orbit Road in Little Rock. The new center sits on 48 acres and offers log cabin dormitories, a lodge, private dining facilities and walking trails surrounding three lakes. For more information about the center, call Carole Baxter at (501) 376-2747 or (501) 352-4611.

In other news, the Oasis Renewal Center, a treatment program for alcohol and drug addiction, announced the hiring of Marci Rhodes, a licensed clinical social worker, as clinical director. Rhodes previously worked as program director for Arkansas for Drug Free Youth.


LR Law Firm Changes Name

The law firm of Huckabay Munson Rowlett & Moore P.A. of Little Rock, founded in 1984, has changed its name to Munson Rowlett Moore & Boone P.A. The law firm's principal focus remains civil litigation. With the departure of Mike Huckabay Sr., the firm welcomes three new attorneys: Amy Tracy, Charles Lyford and Mary Carole Crane. The firm also includes Bruce Munson, Beverly Rowlett, John Moore, Tim Boone, Mark Breeding, Shane Strabala, Sarah Greenwood, Jason Lee, Kara Mikles, Elizabeth Fletcher, Jane Yocum and Ashleigh Phillips.