Movers & Shakers (Nov. 1, 2010)

Bernard Leonard, group vice president of food service at Tyson Foods Inc. of Springdale, was installed as chairman of the National Chicken Council, the trade association for the chicken production and processing industry. Leonard spent 12 years on the board of the U.S. Poultry & Egg Association and is a graduate of the University of Georgia.

Warren Casey has assumed the role of assistant dean of the reorganized Honors College and International Programs at Harding University in Searcy. The Honors College and International Programs were split into separate entities, and Jeff Hopper, who had been dean of the previously combined programs, will now focus on his role as dean of International Programs. Casey will be the assistant dean of the Honors College and work with Hopper for the remainder of the 2010-11 academic year. Casey will become dean of the Honors College in May 2011. He is currently chair of the music department and has a Master of Arts and a doctorate from the University of Oklahoma.

Financial Services
Nancy McDonald, a Little Rock executive and senior vice president of financial services at Affiliated Computer Services, was honored with the American Financial Services Association's Distinguished Service Award at the AFSA's annual meeting in Dallas. The award is the association's highest honor and is given to individuals who have contributed significantly to the industry and the association's growth on a national level, advanced its mission and objectives, and raised its image.

Funeral Services
Adam B. Robinson Jr., president of Ralph Robinson & Sons Funeral Directors in Pine Bluff, has been chosen to serve on the board of directors of Selected Independent Funeral Homes of Deerfield, Ill. Robinson was installed for a three-year term during the closing session of the 2010 annual meeting in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. He has served as president of the Arkansas Funeral Directors Association and the Arkansas State Board of Embalmers & Funeral Directors.

Gary M. McHenry of Fayetteville was appointed chairman of the U.S. Commission of Civil Rights' Arkansas State Advisory Committee. Also appointed to the 12-person committee were Melissa Duke, Julie Greathouse, Andre Guerrero, Rose Jones, Gregory Kaza, Ranko Shiraki Oliver and Brian Vandiver, all of Little Rock; Joseph Horton of Conway; and Adam Arroyos, Robert Maranto and Gary Ritter, all of Fayetteville. The appointments are for two years. Congress has directed the commission to establish state advisory committees in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. The commission is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement.

Health Care
Dr. Jayant Deshpande has been named to the new position of senior vice president-chief quality officer and associate medical director at Arkansas Children's Hospital in Little Rock. Deshpande is responsible for helping the hospital and its medical staff gauge quality and safety. He received his medical degree from the University of Tennessee in Memphis and a master's degree in public health from Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tenn. He is currently the immediate past-president of the Society for Pediatric Anesthesia, the largest national organization of pediatric anesthesiologists.

Rick Fleetwood, CEO of Snell Prosthetic & Orthotic Laboratory of Little Rock, received the American Orthotic & Prosthetic Association's Ralph R. Snell Legislative Advocacy Award for 2010. Fleetwood was chosen to receive the award because of his efforts on behalf of the orthotic and prosthetic industry.

David Delie has been named president of Welspun Tubular LLC in Little Rock. Delie is a 30-year veteran of the steel industry and was previously with Berg Steel Pipe Corp. in Panama City, Fla. Delie will assume his new duties in Little Rock effective January 2011.