Huckabee Makes Appointments As Term Nears End

Gov. Mike Huckabee, who will leave office next week, on Thursday made the following appointments to state boards and commissions:
• Bill Schwyhart of Rogers to the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. Schwyhart will serve until Jan. 14, 2010. He replaces John Bland.
• William H. Fox III of Pine Bluff to the Jefferson County Quorum Court, Justice of the Peace District No. 5. Fox, an insurance consultant for Hoffman Henry Insurance Corp., will serve until Dec. 31, 2008. He replaces Richard Hall.
• Frank Vozel of Little Rock to the State Board of Registration for Professional Engineers & Land Surveyors. Vozel, a licensed professional engineer with the Arkansas State Highway & Transportation Department, will serve until July 1, 2007. He replaces Robert Walters.
• Vickey Boozman of Rogers to the State Board of Health. Boozman will serve until Dec. 31, 2007. She replaces Jim Davis.
• Ralph Myers III of McCrory to the Arkansas Entertainers Hall of Fame Board. Myers, a self-employed lawyer, will serve until Sept. 1, 2011. He replaces Bob Knight.
• Dotson Collins of Farmington to the Governor's Commission on Veterans' Affairs. Collins, employed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture and a former staff member in the governor's office, will serve until Oct. 15, 2008. He replaces Robert Sterrett.
• Bryan Hood of Alma to the Arkansas Rural Development Commission. Hood will serve until Dec. 31, 2007. He replaces Darla Verkamp.