Business Hall of Fame to Induct 4 Friday

The Sam M. Walton College of Business at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville on Friday will induct four to its Arkansas Business Hall of Fame.

This year's group:

• Frank Hickingbotham, founder and former chairman of TCBY Enterprises Inc.,

• The late William F. "Billy" Rector, founder of Rector Phillips Morse Inc.,

• Doyle W. Rogers Sr., chairman of the board of Metropolitan National Bank and

• Forrest L. Wood, founder of Wood Manufacturing Co. Inc. (Ranger Boats).

The men will be honored at a banquet at 6 p.m. at the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock.

The hall of fame is housed in the atrium of the Donald W. Reynolds Center for Enterprise Development at the Walton College on the University of Arkansas campus in Fayetteville.

"This year's inductees built businesses that have made - and are continuing to make - a significant impact on the economy of Arkansas," Walton College Dean Dan L. Worrell said. "The Arkansas Business Hall of Fame was founded in 1999 to highlight the important and lasting contributions of its talented business leaders. We feel it is important to the state's future business leaders to honor and perpetuate these inductees' names and accomplishments."

Click here to see this year's inductee profiles.

Hickingbotham founded frozen-yogurt company TCBY Enterprises in 1981 and was chairman and CEO until the company was sold in 2000. He is also founder of FDH Bancshares, which consisted of five banks with assets of about $400 million. He merged the bank with First Commercial Bank, now Regions Bank.

Rector established the Rector Insurance Agency in 1931, which later became Rector Means & Rowland Inc. In 1955, he founded Rector Phillips Morse Inc., which in five years became Arkansas' largest real estate corporation. He later founded Phillips-Morse Construction Co. to construct developments to be sold or managed by Rector Phillips Morse and RPM Management Co. to manage company-owned and client projects. In 1962, he developed the first condominium project in Arkansas. Rector was born in Palarm in 1913 and died in 1975.

Rogers is chairman and founder of The Doyle Rogers Co. as well as chairman of the board of Metropolitan National Bank. In 1982, he developed and opened the Excelsior Hotel, now The Peabody Little Rock, and the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock. In 1983, he acquired Metropolitan National Bank, one of the state's largest banks with assets of more than $1.2 billion. In 1985, he developed the Rogers Building, now the Stephens Building, in Little Rock. The Doyle Rogers Co. manages commercial real estate interests across the country, including dozens of large-scale retail developments and a ski resort located in Winter Park, Colo.

Forrest L. Wood founded the Wood Manufacturing Co. Inc. in Flippin in 1968 to manufacture Ranger Boats. He is internationally known as the "father of the modern bass boat." His innovations in upright and level boat flotation encouraged the U.S. Coast Guard to adopt new standards.