Letter From AIA Arkansas President Michael Lejong

It is my pleasure to present the 2012 Design Awards publication, which illustrates the outstanding design talent within Arkansas firms. These projects represent the best our design community has to offer. This publication will be distributed by Arkansas Business all across the state, showcasing the rich design diversity, incredible talent and exceptional projects AIA Arkansas architects have produced.

This year’s Design Awards publication cover features the 2011 AIA Arkansas Members’ Choice Award winner — Oley E. Rooker Library in Little Rock, designed by Allison Architects, Inc.

The design awards are judged each year by an independent panel of judges who have the difficult task of narrowing down the winners from the many outstanding projects submitted. Thanks to this year’s judges from the Detroit, Mich., area — Paul Urbanek, FAIA, Bill Massie, AIA, Jim Luckey, AIA and Reed Kroloff — and also special thanks to Randy Palculict, AIA of Jackson Brown Palculict Architects, for serving as our Design Awards chair.

The Award of Merit was established to recognize a person, public agency or company that has advanced the cause of good planning and design. This year, George Wildgen, Hon. AIA of Little Rock, is the Award of Merit honoree.

The Emerging Professional Award is given to recognize a new professional who has expanded the role of the architect through civic participation and professional mentorship. This year’s Emerging Professional Award goes to Tim Maddox, AIA of DeMx Architecture in Fayetteville.

I hope you enjoy this publication, and I look forward to hearing your recommendations about how the AIA can continue to serve its membership and development in the recognition of superior design in our state.

Michael Lejong, AIA, LEED AP BD+C
2012 AIA Arkansas Chapter President