Tim Atkinson Named Editor of Journal of Research Administration (Movers & Shakers, Oct. 8, 2012)


Tim Atkinson has been chosen as editor-in-chief of the Journal of Research Administration, a publication of the Society of Research Administrators International. Atkinson is assistant provost for sponsored programs at the University of Central Arkansas in Conway.

Nancy Knighten has received the State Star title from the national Association of Small Business Development Centers at the group's annual conference in September. Knighten is a business consultant at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock's Arkansas Small Business & Technology Development Center.

Curt R. Rom has been recognized by the American Society for Horticultural Science as a fellow for his career in research, education and service to horticulture science. Rom currently serves as a professor of horticulture at the University of Arkansas System's Division of Agriculture and the Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food & Life Sciences at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville.


Sarah Harris of Little Rock has been promoted to supervisor of individual marketing for ArkansasBlue, Arkansas Blue Cross & Blue Shield's health insurance store located in the Shackleford Crossings shopping center in Little Rock. Harris, who was Miss Arkansas 2000, joined Arkansas Blue Cross in 2010 as a group marketing representative.

Health Care

Ken Cormier has been named president and CEO of Butterfield Trail Village, a nonprofit continuing-care retirement community in Fayetteville. Before the move, Cormier managed a $38 million annual budget as chief operating officer at Hillcrest Health Systems of Nebraska.

Matt Driskell has been hired as chief financial officer of Mena Regional Health System. Before taking the new position, Driskell spent five years as director of managed care, governmental reimbursement and business planning at Georgia Health Sciences Health System in Augusta, Ga.

Barbara G. Williams has been elected regional trustee alternate delegate to the American Hospital Association's Regional Policy Board 7. Williams is also president-elect of the Arkansas Association of Hospital Trustees and will join the Arkansas Hospital Association board of directors in November.

Dr. Jason Farrar, a pediatric oncologist, has joined the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock, where he is an assistant professor of pediatrics in the College of Medicine. Through his work with UAMS, Farrar sees patients in the Hematology-Oncology Clinic at Arkansas Children's Hospital. Before joining UAMS, Farrar was an instructor in the Department of Oncology at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.


Sonny Albarado, projects editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, was installed for a one-year term as president of the national Society of Professional Journalists.


Ginny Kurrus has been appointed president of the recently formed Arkansas Leadership Board of the Crohn's & Colitis Foundation of America. Other newly appointed board members include Steve Schulte, Ronnie Fehrenbach, Jason Lemons, Al Bavon, Dr. Cyrus Tamboli, Pam Buckner, Debra Jones, Jim Studdard, Dr. Dhaval Patel, Dr. Brian McGee, Maradyth McKenzie and Jeffrey Stotts.

Real Estate

Dara Tapley of Greenbrier has joined Crye-Leike of Conway as an agent specializing in residential real estate in Faulkner, Pulaski and Cleburne counties. Tapley has been a licensed real estate agent since 2007, joining Crye-Leike after a brief break in her real estate sales career.