Scott Wood Elected Chairman of Arkansas Automobile Dealers Association (Movers & Shakers)


Brandon Ruhl has been hired as a full-time project manager/architecture intern at Taggart Architects in North Little Rock. Ruhl was previously an intern at the firm while attending the Fay Jones School of Architecture at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville. He graduated in May.


Chris Branam has been named research communications editor and writer in the Office of University Relations at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville. He has more than 20 years of communications experience, including having worked as an editor and reporter at the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette.

John A. White Jr., former chancellor and an alumnus of the College of Engineering at the University of Arkansas, was honored by the dedication of the university’s historic Engineering Hall renamed the John A. White Jr. Engineering Hall.

Sherry Field has received the 2012 Jean Dresden Grambs Career Research in Social Studies Award from the National Council for the Social Studies. Field is the dean of the College of Education at Arkansas Tech University in Russellville.


U.S. Rep. Tim Griffin has received the Manufacturing Legislative Excellence award from the National Association of Manufacturers. Griffin supported 95 percent of the policies the association recognized as critical to the success of manufacturing in the current meeting of Congress.

Health Care

Shannon Rose was the recipient of a travel award from Seahorse Bioscience to present her autism research poster at the Neuroscience 2012 Conference. Rose is a postdoctoral fellow at the Arkansas Children’s Hospital Research Institute in Little Rock.

Diana McDaniel has been named a fellow of the American College of Medical Practice Executives, a division of the Medical Group Management Association. McDaniel is director of physician support at Arkansas Children’s Hospital.


Richard Atkinson has joined Mangan Holcomb Partners of Little Rock as a media assistant. In this role, he will be responsible for researching and analyzing data related to audience demographics and aid in media planning, buying and placement functions for clients in the banking, health care and tourism industries.

Philip Mann and Charlotte Schexnayder were recently presented with honors from the Arkansas chapter of the International Association of Business Communicators at the Bronze Quill Awards. Music director of the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra, Mann was named the association’s 2012 Communicator of the Year. Schexnayder, the former editor and publisher of the Dumas Clarion and a former state legislator, was given the John K. Woodruff Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Alan English has been named publisher of the Log Cabin Democrat in Conway.


Joel E. Anderson, Tom Navin and Pam Baccam received awards at the annual Friendship and Dialog Dinner sponsored by the Institute for Interfaith Dialog. Anderson, chancellor of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, received the 2012 Leadership Award; Navin, director of the social action and prison ministry for the Catholic Diocese of Little Rock, the Community Service Award; and Baccam, a reporter and anchor for KTHV-TV, the Civic Courage Award.

Vivian Nicholson has been named breakfast outreach manager at the Arkansas Hunger Relief Alliance, where she will work to encourage and facilitate the adoption of a variety of breakfast delivery models such as Breakfast in the Classroom by Arkansas schools. Before joining the alliance, Nicholson was child nutrition director at the Lake Hamilton School District.

Real Estate

Kristi Gentry has been promoted to vice president and general property manager at Professional Property Management Inc. in Mountain Home. Gentry has served in various positions since joining the company in 2004.


Scott Wood of Stanley Wood Chevrolet Buick GMC and Scott Wood Chrysler-Dodge-Jeep in Batesville has been elected chairman of the board of the Arkansas Automobile Dealers Association.

Other officers who were recently elected include Mike Bennage of Mike Bennage Chevrolet in Hughes, chairman-elect; John Sahene of Bale Honda in Little Rock, treasurer; Kenne Ketcheside of Smith Ford in Conway, vice chairman for Region 2; and Roger Smart Jr. of Smart Chevrolet in Pine Bluff, regional vice chairman for Region 4. Elected to associate director positions were Jamie Cobb of Gwatney Chevrolet in Jacksonville, Michael Dickerson of Whitson-Morgan Motor Co. in Clarksville, Frank Hug of Hug Chevrolet Buick GMC in Charleston, Mike Lemons of Superior Nissan of Conway, Chris Lewis of Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep in Fayetteville, Gan Nunnally of George Nunnally Chevrolet in Bentonville and Derek Russell of Ford of West Memphis.