Windstream Names Jeffrey T. Hinson Board Chairman

Windstream Corp. of Little Rock on Monday said it had appointed Jeffrey T. Hinson as chairman of the board, effective May 1.  

The publicly traded company said Hinson, a member of the board since Windstream's founding in 2006, qualifies as an independent director, and that his appointment will continue the company's practice of separating the positions of CEO and chairman. Jeff Gardner is the firm's chief executive.

Hinson succeeds Dennis E. Foster, who has been chairman since 2010. The company said Foster will remain on the board and to serve on its compensation committee.

The company (NYSE: WIN) also announced that on May 1, Francis X. “Skip” Frantz will become chairman of the board's audit committee, a position Hinson has held since 2010. Frantz also qualifies as an independent director. Effective with Frantz's appointment, Hinson will no longer serve on the audit committee.

Windstream said the board changes are part of its practice of reviewing the chairman and committee chairman positions for rotation after a three-year term.

"Dennis Foster has been a great source of support and counsel for me over the past three years," Gardner said in a news release. "Our board and shareholders have benefited tremendously from Dennis’ leadership as chairman, and we are delighted that he will continue as a Windstream director."