J. David Daniel Newest Senior VP at Simmons First Trust (Movers & Shakers)


J. David Daniel has been promoted to senior vice president of Simmons First Trust Co. Daniel has more than 20 years of experience, 16 of which have been with the company. He currently works as a personal trust manager at Simmons First Bank of Northeast Arkansas in Jonesboro and is a member of the Arkansas Bar Association, the Craighead County Bar Association and the Greater Jonesboro Chamber of Commerce.

Ron Proctor has been named senior vice president and senior loan officer of First Service Bank. He has more than 30 years of experience in banking and will serve the company’s locations in Yellville and Flippin (both Marion County).

Desiree Mann has been named mortgage loan originator for Bank of the Ozarks in Benton. Mann is a 20-year resident of Benton and has 26 years of financial sector experience.


Douglas Coy, Charlott Jones, Roy Boyd, Christian Ellis and Beth Smith have been elected to the board of directors of the Arkansas Society of Certified Public Accountants. Coy will serve as president and Jones as president-elect, while Boyd serves as vice president, Ellis as secretary and Smith as treasurer.


Dustin Ralston has been named general manager and director of golf of the Southern Oaks Country Club in Jacksonville. Ralston has several years of experience as a head golf professional and golf course manager.


Jeffrey Sawyer has been promoted to partner of Pollution Management Inc. in Little Rock. Sawyer has more than 10 years of experience with the company and previously served as a senior engineer.


Jayce Patch, Gail Ott-Haas and Sheila James have joined the staff of Crye-Leike Realtors at the company’s North Little Rock branch. Patch, a Hot Springs native, recently transferred her real estate license to the company and specializes in working with residential sales and first-time homebuyers. Ott-Haas is a licensed Arkansas Realtor and has 16 years of experience in the industry, and James serves as a member of the North Pulaski Board of Realtors and the National Association of Realtors.


Deborah Tietjen has joined the staff of the Marshall Family Practice Clinic in northeast Arkansas. Tietjen previously worked as a nurse practitioner at Central Washington Hospital and earned her master’s degree in science and midwifery from Philadelphia University.

Jamie Harrison, Bill Jones, David Jones, David Reding and Betty Richards have been appointed to the board of trustees for the Baptist Health Foundation in Little Rock. The members will serve as ambassadors, advisers and fundraisers for the foundation, which has chosen 30 additional trustees. Each individual will complete a three-year term with the opportunity for renewal.

Dana Abraham, Chad Sullivan and Donna Terrell received honors at the annual Josetta Wilkins Awards held at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock. The awards, hosted by the BreastCare program of the Arkansas Department of Health, are given to individuals who advocate the fight against breast cancer. Abraham, a surgical oncologist, was honored as an individual professional while Sullivan and Terrell were recognized as individual volunteers.


Frances S. Fendler, Ibrahim Duyar, Kwasi Boateng, Joseph R. Bell, Tansel Karabacak, Nidhal Bouaynaya and David F. Mastin have been nominated for awards in faculty excellence by the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Each professor was chosen by his or her own departments for excelling in research, which, with teaching and public service, is one of three award categories.


John Paul Hammerschmidt and Jeff Jones will be honored at the 2013 Breakthrough Solutions Conference on May 8 in Little Rock. Hammerschmidt, the former U.S. representative, and Jones, currently employed with CenturyLink, will each receive the Breakthrough Solutions SOAR Award, which is given to communities, regions or individuals who exemplify excellence in community development work.


Marla Johnston Norris has been awarded the Beta Gamma Sigma Medallion from Beta Gamma Sigma, the business honors society. Norris is a graduate of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock and is the co-founder and chief executive officer of Aristotle Inc. Jane Wayland, dean of the UALR College of Business, nominated Norris for the honor.