Arkansas Press Association Honors Paul Smith, Jeff Long

The Arkansas Press Association honored several journalists at its annual convention in late June.

According to an APA news release, Paul Smith, president of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, was presented the annual Distinguished Service Award, which is given to journalists who make significant contributions to the APA and/or the newspaper industry.

Other honorees included Jeff Long, athletic director at the University of Arkansas, who received the Headliner of the Year Award, which is given to people who inspire headlines favorable to the state of Arkansas; Chad Day of the Democrat-Gazette, who received the Freedom of Information Award; and Anita Stafford of Camden Fairview High School, who received the Journalism Educator of the Year Award. Four received the APA’s Golden 50 Service Award, which is given to those who have worked for the industry for 50 years or more: Jane Christianson, Paul Greenberg, Charlotte Hodge and Steve Trolinger.

A Golden 60 Service Award was given to Robert “Dodie” Evans of the Westside Eagle Observer, based in Gravette. He also received the Golden 50 Award in 2003.