Banker Troy Duke to Receive Dean's Award from UALR College of Business (Movers & Shakers)


Veteran Little Rock banker Troy Duke and Lynn Hamilton, vice president of operations for the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, will be honored in October by their alma mater, the College of Business at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Duke will receive the Dean’s Award at the UALR College of Business Alumni Luncheon on Oct. 2, and Hamilton will be named the college’s Distinguished Alumnus for 2013.

Robert B. Mitchell and Mark Funk have been appointed chairman of two departments in the UALR College of Business. Mitchell is chair of the newly created Department of Business Information Systems. He served as chair of the Department of Management for 16 years and was formerly associate dean for undergraduate studies and interim dean of the College of Business. Funk was reappointed chair of the Department of Economics & Finance in July. He served as chair from 2007 to 2011 and since 2012 has been interim chair of the Department of Marketing & Advertising and coordinator of the international business program.

James Bellamy has been named chair of the Department of Radiation & Imaging Studies in the College of Health Professions at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock. Bellamy, who assumed his new role on July 1, had served since 2003 as a faculty member in the college’s Nuclear Medicine Imaging Sciences program and also as director of the Nuclear Medicine Advanced Associate program.

Martin Eggensperger recently assumed the duties of vice chancellor for academics at Arkansas State University-Mountain Home. Eggensperger was previously vice president for instruction at College of the Ouachitas at Malvern.

Financial Services

Catherine Blanton Freedberg has been elected to the board of directors of Bank of the Ozarks Inc. of Little Rock. Freedberg was a director of the First National Bank of Shelby (N.C.), which was acquired by Bank of the Ozarks last month.

Kevin Hufstedler, Kim Frierson and Lauren Johnson have joined Heritage Bank of Jonesboro, and Zach Fahlberg has been promoted. Hufstedler, with 13 years of banking experience, has been hired as vice president of lending, and Frierson has been hired as his assistant. Johnson, a banker since 2006, has assumed the role of vice president of marketing and business development. Fahlberg, a loan officer at Heritage for the past three years, was promoted to assistant vice president of lending.

Bob Henry has been promoted to bank examiner manager at the Arkansas State Bank Department. J.D. Chambliss, Jordan Hurst and Jordan Patterson have been promoted to bank senior examiner. Raychel Pendergist, Chris Rittelmeyer and Eric Roberts have been promoted to bank junior examiner. The department has hired Nathan Elliott as a bank senior examiner and Scott Lambert, Johnathon Welch and Mike Wilkins as bank examiner trainees.

Real Estate

Susan Desselle, formerly of The Charlotte John Co., has joined The Property Group of Little Rock as a sales associate.

Lucas Hargraves of the Little Rock lobbying firm Hargraves Consulting has been hired by the Little Rock Realtors Association to provide counsel on city zoning and ordinances and county and state legislative issues.

Business Services

Douglas White, who spent 16 years as vice president of Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. before forming White House Consulting LLC in 2012, has joined Curtis Stout Inc. of Little Rock as an outside sales representative. Curtis Stout is a representative of lighting, electrical and utility products, automation controls and audiovisual equipment sales and integration.