Dennis Matlock To Chair Harding's Chemistry Dept. (Movers & Shakers)


Dennis Matlock, associate professor of biochemistry and molecular biology, will become chair of the chemistry department at Harding University in Searcy. Matlock holds a doctorate in biochemistry and molecular biology from Saint Louis University and an MBA in management and business ethics from Harding.

Kimball Erdman, assistant professor of landscape architecture at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, received an Oakley Certificate of Merit award from the Association for Gravestone Studies on Dec. 5. Erdman and Johanna Miller Lewis, a professor at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, are being recognized for their work researching the cemetery at the Rohwer Relocation Center, a World War II Japanese confinement site in Desha County.

Financial Services

Sean O’Connell has been named chief information officer for Bank of the Ozarks Inc. in Little Rock. O’Connell has more than 34 years of experience in banking technology and most recently served as managing principal of the information technology practice for DD&F Consulting Group Inc.

Jay Wisener has been hired as senior vice president for the Little Rock branch of First National Bankers Bankshares Inc. Wisener previously worked for the Arkansas Capital Corporation Group, where he served as executive vice president and was a member of the senior management team.

Dolores Welch has been hired as a mortgage loan officer at the Hot Springs branch of Arvest Bank. Prior to joining Arvest, Welch served as a vice president of home loans with Bank of America. Tim Lance has joined the Little Rock branch of Arvest as a consumer loan officer, bringing 25 years of banking and real estate experience to the position.


Tim Tennant has been named business development officer at Nabholz Environmental Services in Little Rock. Tennant has 16 years of experience in the environmental field and previously worked as a project manager for Nabholz.


Eric Roberts has been promoted to attorney at the Arkansas State Bank Department in Little Rock. Also promoted were Dharmin Patel to certified bank senior examiner and Chris Davis, Nathan Elliott, Jim Homan, Lance Nutt and Scott Smith to commissioned senior examiners. The department also has hired Donna Dodge and Daniel Sims as bank examiner trainees.

Candace Martin was recently named finance director and general manager of the Democratic Party of Arkansas in a restructuring announced by party chair Vince Insalaco. Other appointments include Lizzy Price, communications director; Patrick Burgwinkle, press secretary; Daniel Ortiz, political director; Travis Montgomery, field director; Dillon Hupp, assistant to the chair; Anderson Penix, operations manager; and Sarah Maxam, staff assistant.


Mary Hatfield Lowe has been elected to the board of directors of the American Association for Para-legal Education. Lowe is the coordinator for the paralegal studies program at Northwest Arkansas Community College in Bentonville.

David L. Eanes Jr. has joined Taylor King & Associates of Arka-delphia. Eanes most recently worked at Wilkes & McHugh in Little Rock. Also joining the firm are Adam D. Jackson, who clerked at the Knight Law Firm in Fayetteville and the Mayo Law Offices in Bentonville; Britt Cannon Johnson, formerly of Kelley Witherspoon LLP in Little Rock; Kenneth “Rusty” Mitchell, a former associate with the David Hodges Law Firm of Little Rock; and Todd Cooper Watson, formerly of the Watson Law Firm in Newport. Eanes and Johnson will work in North Little Rock; Jackson, Mitchell and Watson will work in Arkadelphia.