State Parks Releases Nominees for 2014 Tourism Awards

The Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism has released the nominees for the 2014 Henry Awards, which honor those who have made significant contributions to the tourism industry in Arkansas.

The awards will be presented at the Governor’s Banquet on March 11, 2014, following the conclusion of the 40th Annual Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism at the John Q. Hammonds Convention Center in Rogers.

The Henry Awards honor Henri de Tonti, the 17th century explorer considered one of the first "Arkansas Travelers." 

The nominees in eight categories are:

The Media Support Award, presented to a distinguished individual or organization for extraordinary attention to and/or support of Arkansas’s tourism industry through the use of media:

  • KY3 TV, Springfield, MO
  • Paula Morell, North Little Rock
  • Southwest Times Record, Fort Smith

The Bootstrap Award, presented to an individual, organization, or community that has achieved significant success “on a shoestring,” having limited means to work with, either in resources or finances: 

  • Altus Veterans Memorial
  • Eureka Springs Historical Museum
  • Miller’s Mud Mill, Dumas 

The Arkansas Heritage Award, presented to an individual, organization, or community that has made a significant contribution toward the preservation of some aspect of Arkansas’s natural, cultural, or aesthetic legacy:

  • Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, Little Rock
  • Arkansas Inland Maritime Museum, North Little Rock
  • Hot Springs Historic Baseball Trail

The Grand Old Classic Special Event Award, presented to a festival, fair, or other special celebration which has “stood the test of time” and become an established example to follow:

  • Enchanted Land of Lights and Legends, Pine Bluff
  • Frisco Festival, Rogers
  • Old Fashioned Square Gathering, Ozark

The Outstanding Volunteer Service Award, presented to a community, individual, or organization that, through outstanding volunteer spirit, has made a substantial contribution to Arkansas’s tourism industry:

  • Central Arkansas Master Naturalists, Little Rock
  • Garland County Historical Society, Hot Springs
  • Twyla Gill Wright, Batesville

The Community Tourism Development Award, presented to an individual or organization which has achieved substantial success in the enhancement of its local resources through imaginative and innovative development efforts:

  • Eureka Springs Arts Council
  • Fort Smith Convention and Visitors Bureau
  • SoMa District, Little Rock

The Natural State Award, presented to a community, organization, special event, or attraction which “stands out in the crowd” because of its unique appeal, media coverage, creative approach, and/or enhancement of community pride, thus benefiting the state’s quality of life:

  • Grant County Museum, Sheridan
  • Terra Studios, Fayetteville
  • Wakarusa Music Festival, Ozark

The Tourism Special Achievement Award, presented to an individual or organization that has contributed to the tourism industry through leadership “above and beyond” the normal requirements of their jobs:

  • Andy Thomas, Russellville
  • Joe Harper, Heber Springs
  • The Johnny Cash Music Festival, Jonesboro

Also during the ceremony, the Tourism Person of the Year and inductees into the Arkansas Tourism Hall of Fame will be announced.