UAMS Names Makhoul as Inaugural Hutchins Distinguished Chair

The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences says Dr. Issam Makhoul will be the inaugural recipient of the Dr. Laura F. Hutchins Distinguished Chair for Hematology and Oncology.

UAMS announced the decision to name Makhoul, the director of the Division of Hematology and Oncology in the UAMS Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, as the recipient in a news release Tuesday.

"I cannot think of anyone better suited to hold the distinguished chair honoring Dr. Hutchins than her long-time colleague, Dr. Makhoul," UAMS Chancellor Dr. Dan Rahn said in a news release. "These two exceptional physicians have worked closely for years and have touched the lives of countless patients through their compassionate care and dedication to cancer research."

Director of the Cancer institute, Dr. Peter Emanuel, echoed the thoughts of Rahn, calling Makhoul’s recognition “a fitting tribute.”

"Both of these outstanding physicians represent the utmost in integrity and dedication to the fight against cancer," Emanuel said in the release. "I am honored to work with them and am grateful for the generous donations that made this distinguished chair possible."

The chair’s funding was provided by a $1 million donation from an anonymous donor, proceeds from the Cancer Institute’s 2012 Gala for Life fundraiser and private donations.

Makhoul joined UAMS in 2002, and is an associate professor in the college of medicine, in addition to serving as the director of the hematology and oncology’s fellowship program since 2008.

Hutchins, a professor of medicine in the hematology and oncology division, is a UAMS graduate, who served as director of hematology and oncology for 15 years. She has also received various clinical, teaching and research honors.