Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp.

Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. provides power to more than 490,000 members of the state's 17 electric distribution cooperatives. It employs about 250 Arkansans.

It is the second largest electric utility in Arkansas, with 2010 revenue of $589 million. Considered one of the top cooperatives in the nation, AECC reports assets of about $1.3 billion. It provides power to its members through diverse generation assets including three hydropower plants, four oil-based, natural gas plants and two natural gas-only plants. AECC also owns shares of three coal-based plants.

In 1942, electric cooperatives in Arkansas pooled their resources to form a statewide association, Arkansas Electric Cooperatives Inc., and a generation and transmission cooperative, Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp.

AECC and AECI, along with the state's 17 electric distribution cooperatives, are known collectively as the Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas. Together, they own about 2,672 megawatts of generating capacity.

Power plants and generating stations are located at Gentry, Newark, Ozark, Barling, Augusta, Morrilton, Redfield, Camden, Dumas, Fulton, Wrightsville and Elkins.

Based in Little Rock, AECC is led by president and CEO Duane Highley.

Related News

Southwest Power Pool Implements Integrated Marketplace

Southwest Power Pool has successfully implemented its Integrated Marketplace. SPP says they are the first Regional Transmission Organization (RTO) to design, build and deliver a day-ahead market on time and on budget. read more >

Arkansas Utilities Benefit From Wind Energy Subsidies

Wind energy generation is on the rise in the states surrounding Arkansas, and the renewable resource is seeing more use from some of the state's utility companies. read more >

Entergy's MISO Move Finishes as Company Celebrates its 100th Anniversary

On Thursday, Entergy Arkansas Inc. will celebrate its 100th birthday by switching on hundreds of LED lights adorning three of the bridges crossing the Arkansas River in Little Rock. Just a few hours earlier, the company will add to its history by completing a two-year, $36.2 million transition into a regional transmission operator. It will also exit its system agreement, otherwise known as the glue holding all of the Entergy operating companies together. read more >

Michael Henderson of Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp., Arkansas Electric Cooperatives Inc. (CFO of the Year Finalist, Public Sector)

Michael Henderson, senior vice president and CFO of Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. and Arkansas Electric Cooperatives Inc., aims to provide affordable service to rural Arkansans, keeping the lights on and the prices low so folks can use the money saved to enhance their quality of life. read more >

Banker Troy Duke to Receive Dean's Award from UALR College of Business (Movers & Shakers)

Veteran Little Rock banker Troy Duke and Lynn Hamilton, vice president of operations for the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, will be honored in October by their alma mater, the College of Business at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Duke will receive the Dean's Award at the UALR College of Business Alumni Luncheon on Oct. 2, and Hamilton will be named the college's Distinguished Alumnus for 2013. read more >

Improved Electrical Transmission Systems In Arkansas Costing Millions

By mid-2014, both Southwest Power Pool and MISO will have upgraded Arkansas' electrical transmission systems with “second-day” transmission markets. The process is expected to cost huge amounts of capital and man-hours. read more >

How The Power of the Electric Marketplace Stays Wired

The new transmission markets being implemented at Arkansas' electric utilities have been called “two-day” markets, “day-ahead” markets, “integrated” markets and other terms. read more >

Power Line In Ozarks Prompts Firestorm

Many of Eureka Springs' 2,100 residents have found common ground in their opposition to a proposed $116.7 million upgrade to a regional power line that will run about 50 miles through portions of Carroll and Benton counties. read more >

Entergy Tops Electric Utilities List

As is typical for Arkansas Business' list of largest electric utility companies, Entergy Arkansas Inc. takes the top spot with $1.74 billion in 2012 revenue, up 2.86 percent from the previous year. The list is ranked by revenue as filed publicly with the Arkansas Public Service Commission. read more >

Arkansas' Largest Private Companies Through the Years

The largest Arkansas-based, Arkansas-owned private companies ranked by reported or estimated revenue (in millions) for fiscal year listed. read more >

Energy Revenue Changes Little; Truman Arnold Cos. Departs List

This year's list of private energy companies hews very closely to the previous year's, with a few major changes. The biggest change is that this year, Truman Arnold Cos., which last year was the largest company on the list with annual revenue of $3 billion, is missing completely. read more >

Movers & Shakers: Robert Johnson Joins Staff at Garver

Robert Johnson has joined the energy group staff of Garver LLC in North Little Rock as a senior project manager. Johnson has 30 years of experience in engineering and was employed with Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. from 1983 to 2013. read more >

Stone Ward Picks Up $1M Account

Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. has hired Little Rock advertising agency Stone Ward as its agency of record. read more >

Arkansas Elecric Cooperative Companies Promote Maria Smedley (Movers & Shakers)

Maria Smedley has been promoted to vice president of human resources at the Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. and Arkansas Electric Cooperatives Inc. in Little Rock. read more >

Entergy Pushes for Arkansas Approval of ITC Merger

The filing is part of a multi-state regulatory process required to complete the $1.78 billion spinoff, which was announced in December 2011. read more >

Movers & Shakers (Aug. 6, 2012)

New hires, promotions and awards for the week of Aug. 6, 2012. read more >

Energy Companies See Revenue Jump

The recession seems far off for Arkansas' private energy companies, with almost all of those represented on Arkansas Business' list of the state's largest private companies having significant jumps in revenue since last year. read more >

Nonprofit Cooperatives Serve Thousands Across State

Each year, hundreds of thousands of Arkansans use cooperatives, nonprofits with unique models allowing customers to join the companies as members. read more >

Cooperatives Get Wind Power

While talking about the role of cooperatives in Arkansas, Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. of Little Rock told Whispers that it would soon add wind power to its diverse energy portfolio. read more >

Michael Henderson: Finalist, Large Private Companies Category

Michael Henderson is one of a trio of men who oversee the three arms of Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas. read more >