Arkansas Tech University

Founded in 1909 as the Second District Agricultural School, today's Arkansas Tech University in Russellville enrolls more than 10,000 students and boasts an endowment of more than $17 million.

In 2004, the school expanded to include a satellite campus in Ozark. In fact, enrollment at Tech increased by 131 percent from 1997 to 2010, and the university marked its 14th consecutive record enrollment in the fall of 2011 with 10,464 students, making Tech the fifth largest institution of higher learning in the state.

In addition, since current president Robert Brown took over in 1993, Tech has invested more than $180 million in upgrades to its infrastructure and added more than 40 new academic programs of study.

Tech's emergency management program is internationally recognized. But it maintains a strong connection to its past; six campus buildings are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Tech serves primarily the Arkansas River Valley and west-central Arkansas regions, and is home to seven academic colleges and a Graduate College.