Ashley Buchman Moves Into Vice Chancellor Slot at ASU-Newport (Movers & Shakers)

Ashley Buchman Moves Into Vice Chancellor Slot at ASU-Newport (Movers & Shakers)
Ashley Buchman of Arkansas State University-Newport | Ann Turney of Lyon College in Batesville

Ashley Buchman was recently promoted to vice chancellor for student affairs at Arkansas State University-Newport.

Buchman began working for the university in 2008 as a workforce development counselor, later assuming the roles of director of student services and dean of retention and student success. She has also served as a liaison among the ASU System’s three campuses.

Ann Turney has joined the staff at Lyon College in Batesville as vice president for institutional advancement. Turney has 31 years of experience as an advancement professional, formerly working for Hendrix College in Conway as director for leadership gifts. She has worked primarily in the areas of major gifts, annual fund, communications and events and has also written several successful grant proposals.

Dr. Laura James has been named associate vice chancellor for clinical and translational research at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock.

James has more than 20 years of experience in clinical pharmacology and toxicology at UAMS and Arkansas Children’s Hospital, and has worked as a professor in the department of pediatrics. She will continue as director of the UAMS Translational Research Institute, a position she has held since 2014.

Dan Ferritor, retired chancellor of the University of Arkansas, and Mike Malone, president and CEO of the Northwest Arkansas Council, have been appointed to the advisory board for the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences’ northwest campus in Fayetteville.

Other new members include the following:

• Kristen Boozman, principal broker for Portfolio in Rogers
• Mary Beth Brooks, retired president and CEO of the Bank of Fayetteville
• Joy Drummonds, Waco Title retiree
• Dorothy Hanby, certified public accountant
• Bob King, community president of the Bank of Fayetteville
• Mandy Macke, associate director and secretary of the board of the Willard & Pat Walker Charitable Foundation
• Bryan Matthews, director of the Veterans Health Care System of the Ozarks
• Dr. Shane McAlister, retired radiologist
• Donny Story, president of Arvest in Fayetteville
• Dr. Joanna Thomas, corporate medical director of Arkansas Blue Cross & Blue Shield
• Margaret Whillock, retiree
• and Dr. Russell Wood, cardiovascular surgeon.

The new members join 13 other current board members, including Ann Rosso, who was named the new chair and representative on the UAMS advancement council.

See more of this week's Movers & Shakers, and submit your own announcement at