CHI St. Vincent Hot Springs, Osteopathic School Partner on Residency Programs

CHI St. Vincent Hot Springs, Osteopathic School Partner on Residency Programs

CHI St. Vincent Hot Springs on Thursday announced its new partnership with the Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine in Fort Smith to develop new undergraduate medical education and graduate medical education training opportunities for ARCOM students and graduates.

CHI St. Vincent Hot Springs anticipates launching GME residencies in both family practice and internal medicine in 2020.

"CHI St. Vincent's commitment to expand partnerships that will generate greater access to quality health care through educational and research based collaborations becomes an essential tool to fulfill our institutional mission and implement mechanisms that ultimately help alleviate existing health disparities and increase the quality of life for all that we serve," Anthony Houston, president of CHI St. Vincent Hot Springs, said in a news release.

Dr. Ray Stowers, provost and dean of ARCOM, said, "Research has shown that residents tend to establish their practices near their residency training. The training of our students and residents occurring at an institution like CHI St Vincent Hot Springs exponentially increases their opportunity to recruit and retain our graduates."

ARCOM's mission is to educate and train osteopathic physicians, skilled in the science of patient-centered osteopathic medical care and focused on service to the underserved. The school also aims to help mitigate a projected primary care physician shortage in Arkansas.

Kyle Parker, president and CEO of the Arkansas Colleges of Health Education, ARCOM's parent institution, said in the release, "Our institutional mission perfectly aligns with CHI St. Vincent, and we look forward to working hand-in-hand to further advance the greater good of health care through the training of our state's future physician workforce."

Houston added that the partnership compliments its existing nursing partnerships with Henderson State University and National Park College.