Arkansas Century Farm Program Honors 42 Farms from 25 Counties

by Kyle Massey  on Wednesday, Jan. 2, 2019 10:19 am   2 min read


The Arkansas Department of Agriculture and Gov. Asa Hutchinson recognized 42 Arkansas farms for staying in the same family over 100 years, including five family farms dating to before the Civil War.

The farming industry longevity champions were inducted into the Arkansas Century Farm Program on Dec. 19 at the state Capitol. The oldest honored farm among the 2018 honorees was the Doyle Farm of Lawrence County, established in 1852, followed by the Lake Rest Farm, which started operation in Crittenden County in 1859. Three of the farms were established in 1860: The Council Family Farm in Franklin County, the Rowe McCarver Farm of Ouachita County and the Holland Farm of Van Buren County.

To qualify, farms had to be 10 acres or more and owned by the same family for at least a century.

The state Agriculture Department started the Century Farm program in 2012 to highlight the contributions and perseverance of farm families who have stayed in the business over generations. Agriculture is Arkansas' largest industry, contributing more than $20 billion to the state’s economy annually and providing one in every six jobs in the state. Arkansas consistently ranks in the top 25 nationally in the production of 23 agricultural commodities.

"The value of farm families is more than their crops and livestock," Hutchinson said at the induction. "Through generations, their commitment to family and hard work has proven to be the combination of values that enriches our communities, and makes our state and nation great."

Including the 2018 inductees, 418 farms have been recognized as Arkansas Century Farms. The 42 newly inducted farms are:

  • Arkansas County — Charles & Belvia Rodgers Farm, established 1911.
  • Boone County — Rockin B Farm, established 1888.
  • Columbia County — Craig Nygaard Keith Farm, established 1889.
  • Conway County  — Kaufman Farms, established 1959.
  • Cross County — Brown Family Farms, established 1917.
  • Desha County — Sain/Morton/Gould/Smith Farm, established 1872; Chris (Kit) Teeter Farm, established 1918.
  • Faulkner County — Austin Acre Farm, established 1913; Justin Acre Farm, established 1913; Harrod/Sanson/White Farm, established 1889; Flying C Rancy, established 1906; Money/Sanson/Harrod Family Farm, established 1899; Rowlett Homestead Farm, established 1887; E.C. Blair/Dennis & Gladys Tyler Farm, established 1918; Cecil Acre-Kelso Family Farm, established 1915.
  • Franklin County — Skeets Ranch, established 1914; Pendergrass Ranch, established 1870; Council Family Farm, established 1860.
  • Fulton County — Montgomery Farms, established 1913; Evans Family Farm, established 1912.
  • Garland County — Bradford Family Farms, established 1907.
  • Jefferson County — Roseland Farm, established 1870.
  • Lawrence County — Doyle Farm, established 1852.
  • Lee County — Waldrip Lands, established 1910.
  • Lincoln County — B.B. Norris Farm, established 1913.
  • Lonoke County — Ben-Lyn Hicks Farm, established 1900; Bryant Family Farm, established 1890; Underwood Cattle Co., established 1909.
  • Marion County — Mears Family Farm, established 1904.
  • Ouachita County — McClurkin Nygaard Keith Farm, established 1902; Steed Rowe Tree Farm, established 1897; Rowe McCarver Farm, established 1860.
  • Poinsett County — Drace-Provost Farm, established 1917.
  • Sebastian County — Dalmut Farms, established 1901.
  • Union County — Barnes Family Farm, established 1917.
  • Van Buren County — Holland Farm, established 1860; Duncan Farm, established 1904.
  • Washington County — Freeman Rocky Mountain Farm, established 1908.
  • Woodruff County — Comer Farm, established 1892; Comer Farm, established 1915.

Applications for the 2019 Century Farm Inductees will open in February. For information, contact Mary Elizabeth Lea at



Please read our comments policy before commenting.