Annual Delta Awards Recognize Tourism Achievement

Annual Delta Awards Recognize Tourism Achievement

The 19th annual Delta Awards recognizing tourism achievement were presented by Arkansas Delta Byways during the organization's annual festivities Friday at the Grand Prairie Center in Stuttgart.

The event was sponsored by ADB, a nonprofit based on the Arkansas State University campus in Jonesboro, with support from the city of Stuttgart and the Grand Prairie Center. ADB President Marcel Hanzlik served as master of ceremonies.

The winners are:

  • Mary Melton, Arkansas State University Publications and Creative Services in all counties, for media support;
  • The Grand Prairie Center in Stuttgart, for hospitality;
  • Entrepreneurs Larry and Beth Taylor of Brinkley;
  • Mississippi River Parkway Commission-Arkansas in all counties, for tourism support/promotional;
  • King Biscuit Blues Festival in Helena, for festival/event;
  • Mississippi County Museum in Osceola (the Bootstrap award went to it); and
  • Hampson Archeological Museum State Park in Wilson, for cultural heritage.

ADB presented its "Outstanding Member Award" to Jim Jackson of West Memphis, executive director of the West Memphis Convention and Visitors Bureau.

The "Tourism Person of the Year" award went to Munnie Jordan of Helena, executive director of the King Biscuit Blues Festival.

The group also presented a Lifetime Achievement Award to Ruth Hawkins, director of Arkansas State University's Heritage Sites, who has worked with ADB since its inception.