John Goodson Re-Elected Chairman of UA Trustees

John Goodson Re-Elected Chairman of UA Trustees
John Goodson

The University of Arkansas' board of trustees has re-elected John Goodson of Texarkana to another year as its chairman.

Goodson's 10-year term on the board expires next year. He was appointed by former Gov. Mike Beebe.

The UA this week announced new officers and committee appointments that took effect on March 1.  Trustees also voted for Stephen Broughton of Pine Bluff to serve as vice chairman; Kelly Eichler of Little Rock to serve as secretary; and Morril Harriman of Little Rock to serve as assistant secretary. 

The election took place during the executive session at the Jan. 29-30 meeting at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.

Mark Waldrip of Moro, who had been vice chairman during his final year on the board, served his last meeting in January. Gov. Asa Hutchinson appointed Ted Dickey of Stuttgart to replace Waldrip. Dickey's 10-year term that began March 2 and runs through March 1, 2030.

"We're going to miss the loyal, quiet confidence of Mr. Waldrip's leadership style in his time serving the UA System that helped successfully guide many of our institutions and this board through many major and difficult issues," Goodson said in a news release. "While we thank Mr. Waldrip for his service and wish him the best, I also extend a warm welcome from the Board to Mr. Dickey and we look forward to working with him to continue ensuring the integrity and success of the state’s premier university system."