Arkansas Farm Bureau Names 2 New Board Members

The Arkansas Farm Bureau named two new board members Friday, following elections at its 87th Annual Convention at the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock.

They are Jason Henson of Mount Judea and Bob Shofner of Centerton. Both men raise livestock.

Rich Hillman of Carlisle was re-elected as the agriculture advocacy nonprofit’s president. Mike Freeze of Little Rock will continue as vice president, and Dan Wright of Waldron will remain secretary/treasurer.

In addition, six other board members were re-elected. They are Sherry Felts of Joiner, Jon Carroll of Moro, Joe Thrash of Houston, Terry Laster of Strong, Chase Groves of Garland City and Jack Evans of Lonoke.

Hillman was first elected as president in 2019 and served for 11 years as vice president before that. He first joined the board in 2001. Hillman is a sixth-generation farmer whose main crops are rice, soybeans and wheat.

This is Freeze’s third term as vice president. He operates the Keo Fish Farm and is a past chairman of the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission.