CFO of the Year: Introduction from Publisher Mitch Bettis

CFO of the Year: Introduction from Publisher Mitch Bettis

Chief financial officers don’t usually grandstand or seek the limelight, so the idea of honoring them at an awards luncheon might seem unusual.

However, for the past 14 years, Arkansas Business has shone the spotlight on financial leaders in Arkansas with unique achievements in their field.

Arkansas’ top financial executives demonstrate a distinct ability to navigate complicated waters and, with ease, switch from being vocal advocates for their companies to humble, behind-the-scenes workers putting in long hours to move the company forward. 

CFOs walk a unique path helping manage the present and future financial position of an organization while helping craft plans with the company leadership for future growth. With a steady hand, reams of data and an occasional Magic 8 Ball, a CFO can be invaluable to a CEO, a board of directors and an organization. 

Arkansas Business isn’t alone in thinking that these leaders should be honored. This year we will gather Nov. 2 for a celebration to pay tribute to these outstanding men and women.

We are especially proud to honor two professionals with lifetime achievement awards.

This year’s deserving recipients are Jeff Holt of Stallion Transportation Group of Beebe, who is receiving the CFO Lifetime Achievement Award, and Mike Carroll, who is receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award in Accounting.

We will also announce the winners from among the finalists representing small private companies, large private companies, nonprofit organizations, public sector/education organizations and hospitals.

Each of our honorees was chosen by an independent panel of judges who know firsthand about successful CFOs.

As you read about this year’s finalists and Lifetime Achievement Award honorees, we hope you’ll think about other financial officers who are deserving of recognition and consider nominating them for the 2023 awards.

We’d also love to get your feedback about our CFO of the Year program. You can email me at or call me at (501) 455-9269.

See more CFO of the Year