2 in Arkansas Join St. Louis Fed Community Banking Council

2 in Arkansas Join St. Louis Fed Community Banking Council

The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis has appointed two Arkansas bankers to its Community Depository Institutions Advisory Council.

John Beller, president and CEO of Bank of Cave City, and Rodney Showmar, president and CEO of Little Rock-based Arkansas Federal Credit Union, were announced as appointees Thursday. They and other new members will serve three-year terms.

The council advises St. Louis Fed President James Bullard on the credit, banking and economic conditions facing their institutions and local communities.

Other new members are:

  • Neil Dauby, president and CEO, German American Bank, Jasper, Indiana
  • Sally Hopkins, president and CEO, FNB Bank, Mayfield, Kentucky
  • Orvin Kimbrough, chairman and CEO, Midwest BankCentre, St. Louis
  • Bryan Thornhill, president and CEO, Bank of Commerce, Greenwood, Mississippi

Members who have been reappointed are:

  • Council chair Luanne Cundiff, president and CEO, First State Bank of St. Charles, Missouri
  • Michelle Coleman, CEO, Bank of Edmonson County, Brownsville, Kentucky
  • Robert “Jeff” May, president and CEO, Banterra Bank, Marion, Illinois
  • Robert S. Shaw Jr., co-founder, CEO and director, Paragon Bank, Memphis
  • Samuel T. Sicard, president and CEO, The First National Bank of Fort Smith, Arkansas
  • Kevin Sparks, president and CEO, Crane Credit Union, Odon, Indiana

The panel meets twice a year at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, with this year’s meetings scheduled for March 6-7 and Oct. 19-20.

The council chair also has the responsibility of reporting twice yearly to the Federal Reserve Board of Governors in Washington, D.C.