$2M Awarded for Transportation Safety Projects in Arkansas

$2M Awarded for Transportation Safety Projects in Arkansas

The U.S. Department of Transportation has awarded $2 million in grants to transportation safety projects in Arkansas.

The money is a portion of $2 billion awarded to 510 projects across the nation under a program established by President Joe Biden's infrastructure law.

In Arkansas, six entities received action plan grants, which aim to help communities that don't have a roadway safety plan to reduce roadway fatalities.

The grant recipients and the amounts awarded are:

  • Metroplan, the planning organization for central Arkansas, $700,000
  • Forrest City, $366,241
  • Northwest Arkansas Regional Planning Commission, $300,000
  • City of Fort Smith, $280,000
  • City of Batesville, $250,000
  • Mississippi County, $160,000

“Every year, crashes cost tens of thousands of American lives and hundreds of billions of dollars to our economy; we face a national emergency on our roadways, and it demands urgent action,” Transportation Secretary Pete Buttigieg said in a statement. “We are proud that these grants will directly support hundreds of communities as they prepare steps that are proven to make roadways safer and save lives.”