UALR Announces New Hire, Honoree and Chair (Movers & Shakers)

Matthew Bellew, James Bobo and Heide Harrell
Matthew Bellew, James Bobo and Heide Harrell (UALR)

Matthew Bellew has been hired as the corporate partnership coordinator at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Bellew fills a newly created position to establish corporate partnerships with companies that will help their employees go to college. Bellew previously served as the director of existing industry at the Little Rock Regional Chamber. James Bobo will be honored by UA Little Rock for his lifetime of support to the university. Bobo serves on the Centennial Campaign Cabinet, working on the university’s fundraising effort for its centennial anniversary in 2026. Bobo attended UA Little Rock for his undergraduate degree and also earned his MBA from the institution. Heide Harrell, vice president and communications director of the private wealth management division at Stephens of Little Rock, will serve as the 2023 chair of the UA Little Rock Alumni Association board of directors. As chair, Harrell will represent the university by building membership and engaging with alumni, as well as raising money for scholarships and planning university events.

Susan Crawford and Cindy Daffron
Susan Crawford and Cindy Daffron (Black River Technical College)

Susan Crawford has been hired as a financial aid adviser at Black River Technical College of Pocahontas. Crawford previously was a substitute teacher with the Greene County School District. Cindy Daffron has been hired as director of clinical education for nursing at BRTC. Before joining BRTC, Daffron was the nursing manager for the observation floor at St. Bernards Medical Center in Jonesboro.

Jay Hughes
Jay Hughes (UAM)

Jay Hughes has been appointed vice chancellor of student engagement at the University of Arkansas at Monticello. Hughes joined UAM in 2009 as dean of students and director of residence life. He briefly retired in 2017 and then rejoined UAM in 2020 as the alumni and development officer. 

Auras Atreya
Auras Atreya (UAMS)

Dr. Auras Atreya has joined the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Medicine as an assistant professor in the Department of Internal Medicine’s Division of Cardiovascular Medicine. Atreya is a specialist in advanced cardiac electrophysiology and will spearhead UAMS’ ventricular tachycardia ablation program, as well as provide heart rhythm treatments such as pacemakers and defibrillators. Atreya also will be the associate director of the cardiac electrophysiology fellowship program at UAMS.  

Jeni Warrior
Jeni Warrior (Baptist Health)

Jeni Warrior has joined the Baptist Health Women’s Clinic in North Little Rock. Warrior, who has 10 years of experience as an advanced practice registered nurse in women’s health, will specialize in well woman exams, women’s health care, contraceptive management, prenatal care and problem gynecology.

The UAMS Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging has named five new members to its community advisory board. They are Jan Alman, who has worked with the Arkansas Repertory Theatre, Our House, the Junior League of Little Rock, Congregation B’nai Israel and the Arkansas Children’s Hospital Auxiliary; Kevin Bratcher, a mortgage banker who has worked with Holy Souls and Little Rock Catholic High School; Baker Cunningham, a lender at the Bank of Little Rock who serves on the Bank of Little Rock mortgage board; Carolyn Rogers, a graduate of Hendrix College in Conway and longtime supporter of UAMS; and Jonathan Wolfe, professor emeritus of pharmacy practice in the UAMS College of Pharmacy. Members of this board serve up to three three-year terms and work to expand clinical, research and education components at the Institute on Aging.

George Burks
George Burks (Arkansas Blue Cross And Blue Shield)

George Burks has been named vice president of group market at Arkansas Blue Cross & Blue Shield in Little Rock. Burks has been with the insurance company since 2014 and will work on creating innovative health solutions.

Alan McClain
Alan McClain (National Association of Insurance Commissioners)

Alan McClain, the Arkansas insurance commissioner, has been appointed by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners to serve as chair of the Property & Casualty Insurance Committee, as well as chair of the Workers’ Compensation Task Force. He has also been reappointed to the Financial Standards & Accreditation Committee.

See more of this week's Movers & Shakers, and submit your own announcement at