Pea Ridge Mayor Elected President of Arkansas Municipal League (Movers & Shakers)

Pea Ridge Mayor Elected President of Arkansas Municipal League (Movers & Shakers)
Jackie Crabtree


Jackie Crabtree, the mayor of Pea Ridge, has been elected president of the Arkansas Municipal League, based in North Little Rock. Little Rock Mayor Mark Stodola was elected first vice president. Additional 2013-14 officers include Gerald Morris, Piggott mayor; Gary Fletcher, Jacksonville mayor; Bob McCaslin, Bentonville mayor; and Catherine Cook, Hope city manager.

Tim Atkinson has been hired as president of the Arkansas Science & Technology Authority in Little Rock. Atkinson has 10 years of experience in conducting and directing medical research programs. He formerly served as the assistant provost and director of sponsored programs at the University of Central Arkansas.


Andrea Angel has been named director of development at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock’s College of Business. Angel formerly served as the university’s director of development for the athletics department.

Christy Valentine has accepted the position of special assistant to the provost at Arkansas State University’s Office of Academic Affairs in Jonesboro. Valentine formerly served as the executive director of marketing at the Office of University Advancement’s marketing and communications department. She will be replaced by Bill Smith. Smith formerly served as director of marketing and branding at Northwestern State University in Natchitoches, La.

Kenneth James has been selected to serve as president of the Arkansas Advanced Initiative for Math & Science at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. James has more than 36 years of experience in public education management, including five years as commissioner of the Arkansas Department of Education. He served as executive vice president for state and government relations at the Pearson School Achievement Services/America’s Choice group from 2009 to 2012.

Health Care

Dr. Mohammed Moursi has been promoted to chief of the division of vascular surgery at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences’ College of Medicine in Little Rock. Moursi formerly served as interim director of the division, and he also serves as a professor of surgery. He joined UAMS in 1995.

Dr. Shannon Swift has joined the White River Medical Center’s diagnostic clinic in Batesville as a private practice physician specializing in internal medicine and pediatrics. Swift completed an internal medicine/pediatrics residency at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis.


Jennifer Martinez Belt has joined the Arkansas Food-bank as chief development officer in Little Rock. Belt formerly served as development director of the Literacy Council in Fort Bend County, Texas, and has held positions with the Arkansas Prostate Cancer Foundation and the Arkansas Optometric Association.


Marvin Childers of Little Rock has been named the 2013 Industry Leader of the Year by the Poultry Federation. Childers has served as president of the federation since 2007.