Faulkner, McLarty, Reed and Simmons Headed for UA Business Hall of Fame

The Sam M. Walton College of Business at the University of Arkansas on Friday will induct four new members to its Arkansas Business Hall of Fame.

The inductees, from the worlds of public relations and publishing, business building and public service, farming and food processing, are:

  • James H. Faulkner of Little Rock, who established Faulkner and Associates in 1957 as a one-man public relations and advertising firm that grew to be a leader in the mid-South region and in Falcon Publications, a company that in June 1981 produced "Take One," the first video entertainment magazine in the nation.
  • Thomas F. "Mack" McLarty of Little Rock, chairman of McLarty Associates and chairman of McLarty Companies, who has a distinguished record of business leadership and public service, including serving as advisor to three U.S. Presidents: Bill Clinton, George H.W. Bush and Jimmy Carter.
  • Stanley E. Reed of Marianna, a lawyer and farmer and member of the Arkansas Farm Bureau board of directors from 1987 to 2008, serving as its president from 2003 to 2008, and was also a member, and later chairman of the University of Arkansas System Board of Trustees from 1998 to 2008. Reed died in 2011.
  • Mark C. Simmons of Siloam Springs, chairman of Simmons Foods Inc. & Affiliates, one of the nation's largest privately held broiler-processing companies and the largest private-label pet food manufacturer in North America.

More: You can read about each of this year's Hall of Fame inductees in this special supplement to Arkansas Business paid for by the University of Arkansas.

The reception and induction ceremony will be held at 6 p.m. Friday the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock. The Arkansas Business Hall of Fame is housed in the atrium of the Donald W. Reynolds Center for Enterprise Development at the Walton College on the University of Arkansas campus in Fayetteville.

Greg Lee, a Walton College alumnus and the retired chief administrative officer and international president of Tyson Foods Inc., chaired the selection process. A nominating committee of 20 business leaders encouraged people throughout the state and beyond to make nominations.

A selection committee of nine business and community leaders reviewed the nominations and chose the inductees. Criteria for selection included: the significance of the impact made as a business leader, the concern demonstrated for improving the community and the display of ethics in all business dealings. In addition, living inductees must be over the age of 60.

More On This Story