Icon (Close Menu)


A-State Establishes Women’s Leadership Collaborative

2 min read

Arkansas State University in Jonesboro has announced the establishment of the Women’s Leadership Collaborative, an initiative to provide mentorship opportunities and elevate the university as an institution for women in leadership roles.

The collaborative will take the founding efforts of the Griffin College of Business’s Women’s Leadership Center and serve as a hub for enhanced efforts across the campus, the university said in a news release.

As part of the initiative, the university is launching a program, Recognizing Remarkable Women, that honors leaders in the Delta region. Nominations are being accepted in the following categories:

  • Leaders in Service – Persons who champion their community through perseverance, confidence, integrity, generosity, innovation and vision. Those nominated for this honor may be an officer in a company, an established small business entrepreneur or a leader in a nonprofit organization.
  • Women to Watch – With up to three individuals selected, nominees for this category are achieving great things in their community, business, government or the non-profit volunteer community.
  • Mentor of the Year – The only award restricted to current members of the Women’s Leadership Conference Founder’s Circle, Collaborative Champion or Junior Champion. The Mentor of the Year exhibits the nurturing spirit of the university’s “Step Up, Reach Back” ethos.

Nominations are due by Sept. 1. The inaugural banquet is scheduled for Nov. 2 at the Cooper Alumni Center.

“I’ve been fortunate to learn profound lessons from time on the Governor’s Commission on Women, and working to create initiatives to support leadership forums,” Chancellor Todd Shields said in the release. “I am so proud to say that A-State will strive to be a place where a Women’s Leadership Collaborative is not only welcomed, but championed.”

Send this to a friend