Icon (Close Menu)


AEDC Awards $356K in Grants

2 min read

The Arkansas Economic Development Commission Division of Rural Services has awarded grants totaling $356,802 to 36 communities across the state, through its Rural Community Grant Program and County Fair Building Grant Program.

Both programs require a 50% match from recipients. 

The Rural Community grants fund community development and fire protection projects. The County Fair Building grants fund construction, renovation or general improvements of buildings or purchase of items that improve the building or services that the county fair association may provide.

“These grants go a long way in helping our smallest communities leverage funds to help meet critical infrastructure needs,” Department of Commerce Secretary Mike Preston said in a news release. “Strong, vibrant communities allow citizens to enjoy a better quality of life, and they make our state more attractive to new and expanding businesses which benefits all Arkansans.”

The following received $15,000 Rural Community grants: 

  • Avoca Fire Department, 
  • Crossroads Volunteer Fire Department, 
  • England,
  • Galatia,
  • Grant County, 
  • Hazen, 
  • Hickory Flat Fire Department,
  • Leachville, 
  • Marshall, 
  • Murfreesboro,
  • Highway 35 South Volunteer Fire Department,
  • Omaha Rural Fire Association,
  • Scranton Rural Fire Department, and
  • Ulm.

Other Rural Community grants went to:

  • Bono ($10,975),
  • Collins-Cominto Fire Department ($14,550),
  • DeAnn Volunteer Fire Department ($1,767),
  • Hector ($8,229),
  • Jacksonport ($2,750),
  • Lavaca Fire Department ($9,400), 
  • McNab ($7,465), 
  • McNeil Fire Department ($9,069), 
  • Moro Fire Department ($7,323), 
  • Oakland Promise Land Fire Protection District ($8,490),
  • Ogden ($5,150),
  • Round Mountain Volunteer Fire Department ($9,087),
  • Rover Fire Department ($9,675),
  • Thornton ($12,612), and
  • Water Valley Volunteer Fire Department ($4,600).

The County Fair Building Grant recipients who received $4,000 apiece were the North Franklin County Fair Association, Little River County Fair Association, Nevada County Fair Association, Poinsett County Fair Association, and Scott County Fair Association.

In addition, the Baxter County Fair Association received $3,126 and the Clark County Fair Association received $2,531 through the County Fair Building Grant Program.

Send this to a friend