Icon (Close Menu)


Arkansas Farm Bureau Picks Dan Wright as President

2 min read

Poultry producer Dan Wright of Waldron was elected Friday as Arkansas Farm Bureau’s president, becoming the 12th person to serve in that role in the organization’s 89-year history.

Wright, 63, was selected for his first term as president. He has served nine years on the organization’s state board, including the past four years as secretary/treasurer.

“I’m humbled and honored by the trust our membership has placed in me to lead our organization into our next era of advocacy, outreach and education for agriculture and rural communities,” Wright said in a news release. “Now, more than ever, is it crucial for our leaders and neighbors to understand the work and commitment our farmers and ranchers have in feeding each and every household in America and much of the world.”

Mike Freeze, 71, of Little Rock will continue as vice president for the agriculture advocacy nonprofit. It’s his fifth term as vice president. Freeze operates the Keo Fish Farm, the largest hybrid striped bass hatchery in the world. He is a past chairman of the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission.

Wright and Freeze were elected during Farm Bureau’s state convention at the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock.

Voting delegates also re-elected seven board members to two-year terms:

  • Sherry Felts of Joiner
  • Bob Shofner of Centerton
  • Jon Carroll of Moro
  • Joe Thrash of Houston
  • Terry Laster of Strong
  • Chase Groves of Garland City
  • Jack Evans of Lonoke

Board action later resulted in the election of Terry Dabbs as secretary/treasurer. A row crop farmer, Dabbs has served on the organization’s board of directors since 2004. He grows rice, soybeans, wheat, oats and corn.

Voting delegates also addressed a range of state and federal policy issues, including a change in its long-held policy and will allow the creation of a candidate-focused Political Action Committee. The delegate body also passed policy in opposition to redesignation of the Buffalo National River and surrounding lands, adopted policy on beginning farmer tax credits, tax exemptions for 4H and FFA projects, agricultural education for K-12, funding for county and state fairs, and continuation of tax exemptions for agricultural input items.

Send this to a friend